For Immediate Release

Re:  Little Mike’s Race to Win

Please Contact:   607-775-5555



KIRKWOOD, NY…Shaun Walker, from Masonville recorded his first victory of the season at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday.  With his victory, Walker became the ninth different Modified feature winner in 2012 at the speedway.  Defending IMCA Modified Track Champion Scott Bennett recorded his fourth victory of the season on Saturday in the “Little Mike’s Race to Win” – a tribute to the memory of former track champion Mike Stolarcyk, III.  The win netted Bennett $1,000 and was his first victory since May 26th.


The 30 lap Modified feature event found Brian Puckett and Barry White on the front row for the start.  At the drop of the green the caution would fly immediately for a multi-car tangle in turn 1 triggered when Dan Creeden made contact with third place starter Brian Malcolm.  Involved in the melee were Brian Weaver, Justin Holland, Shaun Walker, Kevin Bates and Rob Rowe.  Both Rowe and Malcolm saw their evening come to an end as a result.  When racing resumed Puckett darted out front with White in tow.  Brett Tonkin was looking to put another solid run together as he quickly worked his way past White and in to second on lap five.  Tonkin took over the point just one lap later when Puckett drifted wide in turn one also allowing White to take advantage and move in to second.  The caution would fly on lap 8 and on the restart again Puckett would bobble this time causing White to hop his front wheel and flattening his own in the process.  This same yellow period would see current point leader Holland retire from the event with transmission issues.


As the race approached the halfway mark Brett Tonkin was now joined by his brother Alex in second place.  Alex Tonkin started in the 12th slot and was looking for his best ever FMP finish.  In the pack Walker, Weaver, Creeden and Bates were putting on a show as they ran three and four wide as they advanced to the front.  On lap 17 Walker pulled in to third place with now Weaver up to fourth.  The final 18 laps would go caution free as the Tonkin brothers raced for positions one and two allowing both Walker and Weaver to close in.  With only five laps remaining Walker pulled in to second place with Weaver swinging to the outside of Alex Tonkin to take command of third.  Brett Tonkin was trying to pull away but it was to no avail as Walker used the very bottom of the quarter mile and Weaver used the high line to close in.  On the final lap Walker got under Tonkin as Weaver looked to go three wide off turn two for the win.  Out of turn 4 Tonkin drifted ensuring Walker of the victory and denying Weaver a shot at his second straight victory.  At the finish it would be Walker, Brett Tonkin, Weaver, Creeden and Alex Tonkin. 


In an evening that was caution plagued the IMCA Modified division saw only two cautions in the special “Little Mike’s Race to Win” event.  The event honored the memory of former track champion Mike Stolaryck, III and paid $1,000 to the winner.  Charlie Gilbert raced out to the early lead as he and KC Cole battled side by side for  the first 16 laps of the 20 lap event. Eighth place starter Scott Bennett began to work his way through the field as he had a terrific battle with Gary Roberts for second place throughout the race. Bennett worked past Cole on lap 17 as Roberts followed suit. The final two circuits would see Gilbert and Bennett racing side by side for the victory with Roberts looking for room to try and pass them both.  On the final lap Bennett was able to edge under Gilbert for the winning pass.  Gilbert would hang on for second with Roberts, KC Cole and Shawn Bruce rounding out the top five.


The 20 lap Sportsman event saw Danny Tyler invade and record the victory after a last lap pass of current point leader Nick Petrilak.  Petrilak had taken the lead on lap 11 from Mike Loney who had led the distance to that point.  The final eight laps were caution free and Tyler charged to the front taking over fourth place on lap 12 and pulling in to third on lap 14.  One lap later Tyler moved in to the runner slot past Loney and set his sights on Petrilak, who had opened up a sizeable lead.  On the final lap Tyler made a bid to the inside of Petrilak in turn three and was able to make it stick as the duo ran side by side out of turn four.  Loney was able to follow the lead of Tyler as he took over second place on the last circuit.  At the finish it would be Tyler, Loney, Petrilak, Justin Andrews and Bryan Batzel.  Twenty-three starters took the green sixteen finishing.


Twenty four Street Stock drivers took to the grid for the 20 lap feature event that was slowed repeatedly by cautions.  The division often runs caution free but on this night thirteen yellow flag periods made for a long event.  Despite the “caution fever” the outcome would be the same as Jon Carpenter recorded another victory.  Carpenter took the lead on lap 4 despite starting in ninth.  Tom Eiklor had a strong run to finish second followed by Ryan Stone, Tyler Yeagle and Jason Butler.


Other winners on Saturday night were Duane Kinne in the Lightning Cat Expert division, Josh Mutz in the Lightning Cat Novice class and Mackenzie Gibson in the A League of Their Own.  Jason Colwell was the overall winner of the Kiddie Cat inner loop event.


This Tuesday, July 17th Five Mile Point Speedway will hold its 62nd Anniversary Special event.  The Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour will make its final summer appearance in the area.  The tour finale will be held at Five Mile Point Speedway on October 27th.  This Tuesday will see the winner of the Modified 60 lapper earn $6,000.  The Race of Champions Sportsman will also be in action on Tuesday with the winner of that 30 lapper earning $1,000.  The Lightning Cat (4 cylinder) division will also be in competition.  Racing gets underway at 7:15 p.m.


LITTLE MIKE’S RACE TO WIN IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  SCOTT BENNETT, Charlie Gilbert, Gary Roberts, Matt Cole, Shawn Bruce, Mike Wilmot, KC Cole, Matt Roberts, Jason Tuttle, Tanner Harpell, Tyler Stoddard, Dan Burman, Brian Russell, Patti Howell, Josh Wilbur, Rob Slezak Jr.


MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (30):  SHAUN WALKER, Brett Tonkin, Brian Weaver, Dan Creeden, Alex Tonkin, Kevin Bates, Barry White, Jamie Batzel, Brian Puckett, Bobby Trapper Jr., Jim Gabriel Jr., Nick Rochinski, Jeff Crambo, Justin Holland, John Juhl, Chad Cook, Brian Malcolm, Rob Rowe. DNS – Chris Ostrowsky.


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  DANNY TYLER, Mike Loney, Nick Petrilak, Justin Andrews, Bryan Batzel, Mike Austin, Ryan Olsommer, Larry Hillis, Shane Wolf, A.J. Lord, Mike Dougherty, Kevin Smith, Don Stark, Tyler Singleton, Dave Conklin Jr., Rob Snow, Kimberlee Morgan, Jack Amundsen, Brian Decker, P.J. Goodwin, Chris Wood, Karl Shimer.


STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  JON CARPENTER, Tom Eiklor, Ryan Stone, Tyler Yeagle, Jason Butler, Todd Sutliff, Matt Vinson, Matt Spencer, Wayne Stedge, Josh Ames, Kin Vosburg, Josh Dumas, Shannon Oswald, Ryan Codington, Steve Stalker, Chad Sindoni, Pat Nolan, Fred Christ, Dan Wood, T.J. Anderson, Troy Kress, Shane Wolf Sr., Matt Bowman, Josh Akshar. 


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  DUANE KINNE, Dave Simms, Jeff Hayes, Rick Sinsabaugh, Dennis Keesler, Adam Gilbert, Gary Kinne, Dave Bainbridge, Rick Lunn, John Siedlecky, Jason Colwell, Anthony Seward, Dustin Desmond.  DNS – Damian Bausenwein. 


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (12):  JOSH MUTZ, Tucker Harpell, Matt Gibson, George Frantz, Courtney Fritz, Nichole Bausenwein, Mackenzie Gibson.






For additional Information please phone 607-775-5555 or log on to





For additional information please contact the Five Mile Point Speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to  You can also email the speedway directly at or find us on Facebook.