KIRKWOOD, NY…Brian Puckett became the eleventh different Modified feature winner of the season this past Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway.  Nick Petrilak was the winner of the $1,000 Sportsman special.  Petrilak was mourning the passing of his father on Wednesday and received a standing ovation from the crowd upon pulling in to victory lane after the emotional win.


On Saturday it was the Sportsman teams opportunity to be showcased as they were competing in their $1,000 to win handicapped event.  After a special “meet and greet” with the teams A.J. Lord and Chris Wood led the twenty three car starting field to the green.  Wood immediately took the lead but Nick Petrilak was the man on the move coming up from sixth place to take the lead by lap 3.  Petrilak used the extreme outside of the speedway and quickly made it clear he was the guy to beat.  A caution on lap 10 eliminated Wood from competition as Rob Snow spun in the middle of turn 4 and regrouping the field.  On the restart Petrilak again pulled away with a great battle between Ryan Olsommer and Danny Tyler taking place.   The two ran side by side for the remaining ten laps of the event with Olsommer edging Tyler out for second place.  Butch Green had an outstanding run with his crate motor powered car to capture fourth with Larry Hillis finishing fifth.  The victory for Petrilak was emotional after the passing of his dad earlier in the week.  In victory lane Petrilak dedicated the win to his dad “Big Mike” and announced that half of his winnings ($500) would be donated to the St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital in his memory.


The Modified feature event was nothing short of fantastic again on Saturday night.   A last lap, turn four “slide job” attempt by second place runner Justin Holland came up short as Brian Puckett darted back underneath Holland for the win.  The margin of victory was less than half a car length as the fans erupted over the final lap excitement.  Jim Gabriel, Jr. and Chris Ostrowsky brought the field to the green in the 30 lap feature event.  Gabriel looked like he might be on his way to his first victory of the season as he held off both Ostrwosky and Puckett during the first half of the race.  A lap 18 caution reset the field and on the restart Gabriel changed his outside line to the bottom of the quarter mile.  Puckett immediately took advantage as he powered around just a half of lap after the restart.  The final 12 laps of the event would go caution free and all eyes were on Holland as he was advancing from fourth place on lap 18 toward the front.  On lap 22 Holland pulled in to second and set his sights on Puckett.  On the last lap Holland caught the race leader and slid underneath Puckett in turn 3.  As the duo exited turn 4 for the checkered, Holland drifted wide to briefly take the lead only to see Puckett slip to the inside for the win at the stripe.  Holland would settle for second with Gabriel, Dan Creeden and Jeff Crambo rounding out the top five.


The 20 lap IMCA Modified feature was once again a thriller on Saturday night with a finish that was actually closer than the Modified margin of victory.  Mike Wilmot took the lead from Tanner Harpell on lap 5 and looked to have the car to beat.  On the final lap Gary Roberts slipped underneath Wilmot off turn 2 as the two ran side by side to the finish.  Roberts would win by only inches over Wilmot again to the delight of the fans.  The IMCA division has been putting on showcase features every Saturday night in 2012.  Matt Cole, Matt Roberts and Charlie Gilbert rounded out the top five.  Gilbert rebounded from a heat race crash that saw his car “cradled off the speedway”.


Jon Carpenter continued his dominance by winning the 20 lap Street Stock feature event.  Matt Bowman who was the $1,000 Street Stock winner the week prior finished second.  Ken Sparks, Pat  Nolan and Todd Sutliff completed the top five.


Duane Kinne was the Lightning Cat Expert feature winner with Tucker Harpell taking top honors in the Lightning Cat Novice feature.  Mark Andrus was the Figure 8 feature winner.  This Saturday Five Mile Point Speedway will see the Modifieds competing in their bonus event with $2,000 going to the winner of the 30 lap feature event.  Racing gets underway at 6 p.m.



MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (30):  BRIAN PUCKETT, Justin Holland, Jim Gabriel Jr., Dan Creeden, Jeff Crambo, Chris Ostrowsky, Brian Weaver, Barry White, Adam Smith, Brett Tonkin, Brian Malcolm, Shaun Walker, Alex Tonkin, Ken Hildebrandt, John Juhl, Mike Trautschold, Jame Batzel, Dan Morden, Mike Nagel Jr., Nick Rochinski, Kevin Bates.


$1,000 SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20): NICK PETRILAK, Ryan Olsommer, Danny Tyler, Butch Green, Larry Hillis, Brian Decker, Mike Loney, P.J. Goodwin, Chance Spoonhower, Phil Recchio, Charlie Hendrickson, A.J. Lord, Mike Austin, Wade Johnson, Lem Atkins, Don Stark, Dusty Barton, Dave Smith, Bryan Batzel, Jack Admundsen, Rob Snow, Chris Wood, Tyler Singleton.


STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  JON CARPENTER, Matt Bowman, Ken Sparks, Pat Nolan, Todd Sutliff, T.J. Anderson, Matt Spencer, Ben Hulsander, Phil Clapper, Josh Ames, Josh Dumas, Chad Sindoni, Jason Butler, Troy Kress, Joe Warren, Dave Stalker.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  GARY ROBERTS, Mike Wilmot, Matt Cole, Matt Roberts, Charlie Gilbert, Jason Tuttle, Scott Bennett, Shawn Bruce, Tyler Stoddard, Tanner Harpell, Kevin Tuttle, K.C. Cole, Brian Russell, Rob Slezak Jr., Don Newell, Joe Novak.  DNS  Josh Wilbur.


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  (15):  DUANE KINNE, Jeff Hayes, Jason Colwell, Dennis Keesler, Todd Stanton, Walt Henry, Carter Miller, Matt Curry, Adam Gilbert, Matt Mather, Dave Bainbridge, Damian Bausenwein, Rick Lunn, Anthony Seward, Dave Simms.


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  (12):  TUCKER HARPELL, Brian Bauernfeind, Dan Curry, Josh Mutz, Cody Bots, Nichole Bausenwein, Evan Lippolis, Frank Smith, Mike Knight.




TONARLO’S RESTAURANT STREET STOCK CASH FOR DASH:  JON CARPENTER, Matt Bowman, Pat Nolan, Jason Butler, Todd Sutliff, Matt Spencer.