KIRKWOOD, NY…Five Mile Point Speedway hosted Season Championship Night on Saturday with the 2012 track championships on the line in all of the classes.  Justin Holland left no doubt about his championship pursuit by winning the Modified 50 lap feature and clinching his first ever track title.  The 50 lap victory was worth $2,000 and he will also receive $5,000 for the track championship at the annual awards banquet. 


The Modified 50 lap feature event found Jim Gabriel, Jr. and Nick Rochinski on the front row for the start.  Rochinski took the lead at the drop of the green as a number of tremendous battles immediately took shape throughout the field.  The quarter mile surface was in excellent shape and provided for three and four wide racing all over the speedway.   Gabriel, Alex Tonkin and Kevin Bates had a great early race battle as they ran three wide lap after lap allowing the race leader to pull away.  Meanwhile Justin Holland was working his way through the field after starting in the eleventh position.  Most of the racing was three wide around the quarter mile which actually made it difficult to advance as individual battles provided the fans with a fantastic show.


Bates took command of second place on lap 14 around the outside of the speedway as Holland was now already up to third at this point.  Rochinski had opened up a straight away lead but Bates and Holland were ready to close the gap.  On lap 28 Holland made his way past Bates for second place as the duo had closed the margin on the race leader.  To this point the race had still remained caution free as the racing throughout the field was intense.  Once Holland took over second place he wasted little time in dispatching Rochinski for the lead on lap 32.  The only caution of the race flew on lap 34 for a slowing Mike Clapperton. 


On the restart Holland pulled away going on to his fourth victory of the season and his first since June 2nd.  Rochinski hung on for second followed by Bates, Shaun Walker and Jeff Crambo.  The victory for Holland was worth $7,000 in cash including the money he will receive at the season ending awards dinner.  He also earned 10 free American Racer Tires valued at $166 each for his track title in the American Racer Cup standings.  By virtue of his fifth place finish Jeff Crambo earned the “Rookie of the Year” title and vaulted in to a final fourth place finish in the final track points. 


Nick Petrilak entered the evening hoping to lock up his second straight Sportsman track title at the speedway.  The Pennsylvania driver left no doubt as he won the 25 lap feature on his way to the track championship.  Ryan Olsommer took the early race lead but Petrilak was on rails on the outer limits of the quarter mile oval.  After starting in sixth place Petrilak took the lead on lap 6 and would never look back.  For Petrilak the win was his sixth point victory of the season and enough to lock up the title over P.J. Goodwin and Olsommer.  Goodwin charged to a second place finish in the feature with Olsommer, Mike Austin and Chris Wood filling the top five slots.


The trend of the evening continued in the 25 lap IMCA Modified feature event as Scott Bennett utilized the win in the feature to secure his second straight track championship as well.  Bennett took the lead on lap 16 from Charlie Gilbert and went on to his sixth victory of the season.  Gilbert would finish second followed by last weeks winner Matt Cole, Matt Roberts and K.C. Cole.  Matt Roberts finished second in the point standings.  Although Roberts did not have a feature win he was consistent in every outing this season.


Jon Carpenter had already locked up the 2012 track championship for the Street Stock division entering the evening.  It was Shane Wolf making the most noise in the 25 lap feature.  Wolf took the lead from Matt Spencer on lap 10 and went on for his third straight victory of the season.  Jason Butler, Spencer, T.J. Anderson and Ben Hulsander rounded out the top five.  Carpenter finished ninth while locking up the track title.  Carpenter recorded the eight victories at the speedway this season despite struggling with mechanical woes over the final several weeks of the season.  Todd Sutliff went winless in 2012 but still wound up second in the final point standings. 


Jason Colwell was the winner of the 20 lap Lightning Cat Expert feature event but it was Duane Kinne who secured the 2012 Track Championship.  Colwell took the lead from Dennis Keesler on lap 8 and went on for his fourth win of the season in the very competitive class.  Dave Simms, Kinne, Dave Sinsabaugh and Dave Bainbridge rounded out the top five.  For Kinne the championship came as a result of his strong finishes along with three feature wins.


Tucker Harpell recorded the win in the 15 lap Lightning Cat Novice feature and he too locked up the 2012 Track Championship in the process.  Harpell took the lead from Frank Smith on lap 2 and went on to his ninth victory of the season making him the winningest driver at the speedway this season.   Cody Botts, George Franz, Wendy Elliott and Courtney Fritz rounded out the top five.


Leigh Fuller won the A League of Their Own race and also secured the 2012 Track Championship as well.


Racing continues at the speedway on Saturday, October 6th with the 5th running of the Short Track SuperNationals. 



MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (50) – JUSTIN HOLLAND, Nick Rochinski, Kevin Bates, Shaun Walker, Jeff Crambo, Alex Tonkin, Brent Boyer, Dan Creeden, Jamie Batzel, Mike Colsten, Jim Gabriel Jr., Barry White, Brian Malcolm, Chris Ostrowsky, George Hildebrandt, Dwayne Robbins, Rob Rowe, Greg Morgan, Mike Clapperton. DNS – Brett Tonkin.  Track Champion:  Justin Holland


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  NICK PETRILAK, P.J. Goodwin, Ryan Olsommer, Mike Austin, Chris Wood, Brian Decker, Larry Hillis, Greg Morgan, Shane Wolf Jr., Don Stark, Rob Snow Jr., Dave Smith, Dusty Barton, Mike Loney, Kyle Ciccio.  DNS – Chris Hunsinger, Randy Green – Track Champion:  Nick Petrilak.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  SCOTT BENNETT, Charlie Gilbert, Matt Cole, Matt Roberts, K.C. Cole, Tanner Harpell, Jason Tuttle, Mike Wilmot, Joe Novak, Gary Roberts, Brian Russell, Josh Wilbur.  Track Champion:  Scott Bennett.


STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  SHANE WOLF, SR.,  Jason Butler, Matt Spencer, T.J. Anderson, Ben Hulsander, Todd Sutliff, Josh Dumas, Joe Warren, Jon Carpenter, Matt Bowman, Troy Kress, Phil Clapper, Josh Ames.  DNS – Ryan Codington, Paul Botts.Track Champion:  Jon Carpenter. 


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  DUANE KINNE, Dave Simms, Jason Colwell, Rick Sinsabuagh, Dave Bainbridge, Matt Hynds, Jeff Hayes, Adam Gilbert, Matt Mather, Rick Lunn, Damien Bausenwein, Dennis Keesler, Randy Marsh.


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  TUCKER HARPELL, Cody Botts, George Franz, Wendy Elliott, Courtney Fritz, Leigh Fuller, Nichole Bausenwein, Frank Smith, Deb Stalker.  Track Champion:  Tucker Harpell.


A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  LEIGH FULLER, Courtney Frits, Wendy Elliott, Nichole Bausenwein.  Track Champion:  Leigh Fuller.


2012 Final Point Standings Top Five

Modifieds:  Justin Holland (961), Danny Creeden (868), Shaun Walker (864), Jeff Crambo (830), Kevin Bates (824).

Sportsman:  Nick Petrilak (994), P.J. Goodwin (915), Ryan Olsommer (890), Chris Wood (888), Mike Autin (834).

IMCA Modifieds:  Scott Bennett (727), Matt Roberts (684), Gary Roberts (681), Mike Wilmot (666), Charlie Gilbert (651).

Street Stocks:  Jon Carpenter (982), Todd Sutliff (835), Jason Butler (705), T.J. Anderson (701), Mike Bowman (552).

Lightning Cat Expert:  Duane Kinne (1017), Jeff Hayes (954), Dave Simms (938), Jason Colwell (931), Dennis Keesler (876).

Lightning Cat Novice:  Tucker Harpell (536).

A League of Their Own:  Leigh Fuller (554).