RE:  2013 FMP Awards Dinner





KIRKWOOD, NY…On Saturday, December 21st Five Mile Point Speedway hosted its Annual Awards Dinner saluting the efforts of the track champions, crews and race officials from this past racing season.  Mike Colsten from Binghamton, NY was honored for his third Modified Track Championship at Five Mile Point Speedway and received $5,000 for his title at the Kirkwood oval.


The Awards Dinner was held at the Claude Garrison Memorial, Inc. American Legion Post 1645 in Binghamton.  The 2013 Track Champions in all of the racing divisions were saluted including:   Mike Colsten (Modifieds), Nick Petrilak (Sportsman), Jon Carpenter (Street Stocks), Mike Wilmot (IMCA Modifieds), Ken Underwood (Lightning Cat Experts), Deb Stalker (Lightning Cat Novice) and Lance Albanese (Figure 8’s).


Throughout the evening a fund raiser was also held to benefit the Broome County Toys for Tots Foundation.  Over three barrels of toys along with $1,008.00 was raised for the charity by the selfless donations of the speedway race teams, fans and staff.


Five Mile Point Speedway veteran driver Mike Colsten has raced for over 40 years and on Saturday his 2013 accomplishments took center stage.  Colsten earned his third Five Mile Point Speedway Modified Track Championship this season to add to his prior five Late Model Track Championships he recorded in the ‘70’s at the speedway.  It was the response of the audience at the packed Legion Hall that spoke volumes.  Upon receiving his championship awards Colsten was greeted to two standing ovations saluting his racing championship and his personal triumph this past season. 


On the track Colsten drove to three feature wins including back to back wins at the mid-point of the season.  He held off Kevin Bates from Lake Ariel, PA by 84 points to claim the title and the $5,000 championship check. 


His battle with mesothelioma over the past year left many to wonder if he would ever even compete again on the racetrack.  After a year of surgeries and treatments Mike Colsten summed up his personal battle during his acceptance speech at the dinner.  “We came in to this season not knowing how well I would feel or if I could race but I made it a goal as I thought the physical activity would be good for me.”  “I never could have dreamed we would have this kind of season.”  He added, “My doctor’s did not give me a good prognosis last fall and here we are.  I put my faith in our savior and through the support of my family, friends and the racing community I never lost hope.” “Tonight I stand here with a limited amount of cancer remaining in my body at this point and my doctors have said there is much more reason for my current condition than my surgeries or medicine.”

Modified Championship runner-up Kevin Bates was honored for his American Racer Cup Championship at the speedway.  This program awards a driver’s best 12 finishes throughout the course of the season.  Bates came up short in the overall title but did have a great run of 12 finishes during the season.


Nick Petrilak from Greenfield Township, PA was honored for his third consecutive Sportsman Track Championship at the speedway.  Petrilak had 7 feature wins including a streak of 4 straight victories in the months of June and July.  During his acceptance interview Petrilak announced he would be moving in to the Modified division at the speedway in 2014.


Mike Wilmot from Windsor, NY was center stage as the IMCA Modified Track Champion at the speedway.  In 2013 Wilmot had 6 feature wins and also captured the IMCA Modified Empire State Championship, a tour that races throughout the state of New York during the course of the season.  Wilmot plans to return to Five Mile Point Speedway in 2014 and is currently discussing efforts to possibly compete in the Sportsman or Modified division.


The most dominating driver at Five Mile Point Speedway in 2013 was Jon Carpenter.  Carpenter recorded his second straight Street Stock Championship collecting 11 feature wins.  He also was named the Race of Champions Street Stock titlist for the second straight season as well.  Carpenter is planning on defending his title at the speedway in 2014.


Kenny Underwood was recognized as the Lightning Cat Expert Track Champion with 10 feature wins this season.  Deb Stalker was honored as the Lightning Cat Novice Track Champion.  Lance Albanese was unable to attend the ceremony but was recognized as the Figure 8 Track Champion.


In addition to the divisional point awards a number of special awards were presented.  The Glenn Knapp family presented the Glenn Knapp Memorial Owner of the Year Award to Nancy and Brian Hunt the owners of the Ken Hammond, Eddie White and Brian White Sportsman cars.  Lyn Redcay was also recognized as the 2012 recipient of this award.


Five Mile Point Speedway owner Andrew Harpell presented the “Head of the Class Award” to Glenn Knapp for his class and contributions to Five Mile Point Speedway over a career that has spanned over 30 years.


Tom Goodrich was recognized with a “Special Recognition Award” for his hard work and volunteering behind the scenes at the speedway to make it a better place for the race teams and fans.  The announcement was well received by those in attendance.


Brian Cochardo presented special “Pit Steward” Awards to Joe and K.C. Cole for their years of support and great presence in the drivers pit area.


“Best Appearing Car Awards” were presented to:  Chris Wood (Modifieds), Eddie White (Sportsman), Jon Carpenter (Street Stocks), Gary Roberts (IMCA Modifieds), Kenny Underwood (Lighting Cat Expert), Ronnie Welch (Lightning Cat Novice).


“Most Improved Driver Award” were presented to: Jim Gabriel, Jr. (Modifieds), Matt Bowman (Street Stocks), Jason Tuttle (IMCA Modifieds), Adam Gilbert (Lightning Cat Expert).


The 2013 “Rookie of the Year Awards” went to:  Chris Wood (Modifieds), Randy Green (Sportsman), John Cooper Jr. (Street Stocks), Jared Spalding (IMCA Modifieds), Tucker Harpell (Lightning Cat Expert).


Five Mile Point Speedway will begin its 64th consecutive year of racing on Sunday, April 6th.


For more information please phone the Five Mile Point Speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to  You can also find us on Facebook.




2013 Modified Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Mike Colsten (916), Kevin Bates (832), Brian Malcolm (792), Nick Rochinski (785), Chris Wood (778).


2013 Sportsman Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Nick Petrilak (1014), Kenny Hammond (939), Eddie White (893), Mike Loney (861), Brian White (839).


2013 IMCA Modified Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Mike Wilmot (584), Matt Roberts (578), Gary Roberts (566), Jason Tuttle (563), Tanner Harpell (544).


2013 Street Stock Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Jon Carpenter (994), Shane Wolfe (928), Matt Bowman (766), John Cooper Jr. (669), Matt Spencer (639).


2013 Lighting Cat Expert Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Kenny Underwood (1027), Adam Gilbert (931), Tucker Harpell (903), Jeff Hayes (861), Dave Simms (792).


2013 Lightning Cat Novice Final Top Five Championship Drivers:  Deb Stalker (348), Nick Kennedy (337 points), Allan Hodge (213), Sheldon Whitman (209), Ronnie Welch (168).


2013 Figure 8 Track Champion:  Lance Albanese