KIRKWOOD, NY…Five Mile Point Speedway hosted their 63rd consecutive season opener on Sunday and it was Jim Housworth taking the top prize in the Race of Champions Sportsman 40 lap feature event.  Defending Five Mile Point Speedway and Race of Champions Street Stock Champion Jon Carpenter was the RoC Street Stock 25 lap feature winner.  Butch Getz was the 600 c.c. Modified winner with Rob Nober the 4 Cylinder winner.  The “Tommy Boy 20” for Factory Stocks had two “best of class winners” – Mike Mente and Mike Morris.


Charlie Hendrickson, Jr. and Ryan Jordan led the field to the green in the 40 lap RoC Sportsman feature event.  It was Jordan, a former fall RoC Sportsman 100 winner at the speedway taking command early.  Rusty Smith darted in to second place during the early going as Housworth quickly advanced from his sixth starting position.  The first 10 circuits of the event were plagued by cautions slowing the flow of the event in the early going.  Jordan continued to lead but the caution would fly again on lap 14 as Eddie White made contact with Rusty Smith as the two battled in the top five.  Neither would be able to return to action.  The caution would fly consecutively on laps 15 and 16 as well.  On the lap 16 restart Housworth worked past race leader Jordan as defending track champion Nick Petrilak wasted no time in following suite, moving in to the runner-up spot. The final 20 laps would see Petrilak hounding Housworth for the lead as Danny Tyler began a late race charge from his 15th starting spot.


Tyler worked past Jordan on lap 30 for third and set his site on the leaders.  The top 3 hooked up in a solid battle for the lead but Housworth was able to hold on for the victory.  Petrilak finished second after starting in 12th.   Tyler would be third.  Claude Hutchings, Jr. had another solid run from the back of the field by finishing fourth after starting in 20th.  Jordan wound up fifth.  The victory for Housworth was his second career win at the speedway, the prior victory was a win in a special crate sportsman event held at the quarter mile.  The victory netted Housworth $1,700.


Jon Carpenter wasted little time moving his way to the front of the pack after starting 8th in the 25 lap RoC Street Stock feature event.  Carpenter worked past Tom Eiklor for the lead on lap 5 and would never look back.  Kurt Decker stole the show by finishing second after starting 20th on the grid.  Cory Costa had a strong run finishing third with Rich Green and Chris Strohl completing the top five.  Carpenter recorded the victory with a crate motor in his Street Stock.


Rob Nober was the winner of the 4 Cylinder open.  Nober started fourth in the field of 18 starters and led from lap 2 through 15.  The “Tommy Boy 20” feature had two “best of class winners” and ironically they finished 1 and 2 in the final running order:  Mike Mente won the event in an “open factory stock car” and Mike Morris was bet of class running under southern tier Factory Stock rules.  Butch Getz was the 600 c.c. Modified winner.


Five Mile Point Speedway will host another open practice this Saturday beginning at 12 noon.  On Sunday the stars of the Race of Champions Modified Tour will be in action joined by a special crate Sportsman $1,000 to win event and the IMCA Modifieds in an Empire State Touring event.  The 600 c.c. Modifieds will also return to competition along with a 4 cylinder open.  Racing on Sunday gets underway at 4 p.m.


For more information please phone the Five Mile Point Speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to  You can also find us on Facebook.





ROC SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (40):  JIM HOUSWORTH, Nick Petrilak, Danny Tyler, Claude Hutchings Jr., Ryan Jordan, Charlie Hendrickson, Grant Hilfiger, Rich Rutski, Kyle VanDuser, Ryan Olsommer, Clay Butler, Dusty Barton, Mike Loney, Steve Searock, Stephen Denton, Brett Wright, Bryan Batzel, Butch Green, Randy Green, Kevin Jordan, Anthony Perrego, Ken Hammond, Brian White, P.J. Goodwin, Alan Barker, Rusty Smith, Eddie White, Jerry Tonti.  Gamblers Bonus – Jim Housworth/Kevin Jordan.


ROC STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  JON CARPENTER, Kurt Decker, Cory Costa, Rich Green, Chris Strohl, Shane Wolf Sr., Gene Sharpsteen, Dylan Ceccie, Jason Butler, David Matwiejow, Dan Wood, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Josh Ames, Keith Stevenson, Paul Harrington, Brenton Miller, Rich Sharpsteen II, Russell Morseman III, Chad Sindoni, Tom Eiklor, Rich Sharpsteen.  DNS Nick Robinson, T.J. Anderson.  Gamblers Bonus – Kurt Decker.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  ROB NOBER, Duane Kinne, Jeremy Trank, Adam Gilbert, Shawn Maloney, George Zeininger, Matt Curry, Eric Rowley, Collin Davey, Tim Vandermark, Robbie Fiene, Bob Crandle, Bryan Nornhold, Rick Sinsabuagh, Guy Raymond, Justin Pope, Matt Hinds.  DNS – Tucker Harpell, Toby Sparks.


TOMMY BOY 20 FOR FACTORY STOCKS (20 laps – 2 best of class winners): MIKE MENTE, MIKE MORRIS, Bill Leonard, George Brown, Buck Mills Jr., Gary Cleveland, Fred Peters, Mike Chilson, Lanson Albanese, Harold Walburn.  DNS James Malard.