April 14th Quick Results









KIRKWOOD, NY…Five Mile Point Speedway hosted the Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour on Sunday and it was Stewart Friesen recording the $4,000 victory.  He became the fourth different winner in as many events on the RoC Series in 2013.  Alex Stanton was the winner of the Crate $1,000 Sportsman special event.  The IMCA Modified Empire State Series win went to Mike Wilmot with Duane Kinne winning the 4 Cylinder overall division and Nick Mady winning the $1,000 - 600 c.c. Modified main event.


The best in Modified racing gathered at Five Mile Point Speedway on Sunday for the Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour 55 lapper and the fans were treated to an outstanding event.  Thirty-one starters circled the quarter mile oval and displayed their talents with the first twenty one laps of the event run caution free.  Local star Mike Colsten showed the outsiders the fast way around the speedway during the early stages and he out dragged Stewart Friesen to the front.  Colsten would lead the first 11 circuits with Friesen rallying past on lap 12.  Billy Decker quickly emerged to take part in the battle up front after starting in eighth.  He and Colsten put on a great race for second and Friesen began to put some lapped cars between he and the battle for second.


The first caution of the event took place on lap 21 for a spinning Mel Schrufer.  On the restart Friesen pulled back ahead with Decker now in second, Colsten still third and Rick Laubach challenging for that spot after starting in 12th.  As quickly as Laubach moved to the front he began to drop in position as a tire began to slowly go down.  The next caution would fly on lap 35 for a single car incident that saw Jimmy Phelps with a locked up front end on the 98h machine.  On the restart Friesen again pulled ahead as Decker tried to keep pace.  Meanwhile all eyes were now on Jerry Higbie, Bobby Varin, Justin Holland and Tim McCreadie as they often ran three and four wide during their advance to the front.  The final few laps would see Friesen go virtually unchallenged as he became the fourth different Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour winner in as many races in 2013.  Decker had another solid Five Mile Point Speedway effort in finishing second.  Bobby Varin showed he is beginning to take a liking to the quarter mile by finishing third after starting 14th.  Varin finished second in the fall Short Track SuperNationals event, is best finish at the speedway. Matt Sheppard advanced from his fifth starting spot to fourth at the wire.  Tim McCreadie rounded out the top five after starting 24th on the grid.


Alex Stanton took the lead on lap 3 of the Crate Sportsman 25 lap event and would never relinquish it.  Tyler Boniface made several late race challenges but just came up short at the stripe.  The win netted Stanton a cool $1,000 payday.


Weekly IMCA Modified star Mike Wilmot used his track knowledge to his advantage as he picked up the popular win in the Empire State Series event on Sunday.  Wilmot utilized lapped traffic to work past Chris Fleming on lap 19 and go on for the victory.  Fleming would finish second.  The Five Mile Point Speedway weekly drivers showed their muscle on Sunday by placing in four of the top five finishing spots.  Matt Roberts, Mike Stoddard and Gary Roberts all track regulars rounded out the top five.


Nick Mady was the winner of the $1,000 to win 600 c.c. Modified 20 lap feature event.  Duane Kinne backed up his track championship from 2012 to win the 4 Cylinder open.  Chris Sherman received a bonus in that event as the top finishing rear wheel drive car.


Race notes…an outstanding field of Race of Champions Modified Tour drivers converged on the quarter mile for Sunday’s event…The crowd gave Mike Colsten a standing ovation after he rallied past Stewart Friesen for a qualifying heat win by only inches…Colsten has been recovering from serious health issues and the fans showed their support for that performance…Brian Weaver was aboard the Jamie Batzel j27 and looked strong early…His rally was slowed after contact with Danny Johnson led to hard contact with the backstretch wall…Weaver still managed a seventh place finish…Dale Planck like a number of the Modified drivers in the field started his racing career at the speedway in the old Four Cylinder Modified ranks…On Sunday he was aboard the Larry Wight owned 99L but missed qualifying for the feature…Unofficially Bobby Varin maintains his RoC point lead entering the “Victoria” event in May at Utica Rome Speedway…


For more information please phone the Five Mile Point Speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to  You can also find us on Facebook.


ROC MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (55):  STEWART FRIESEN, Billy Decker, Bobby Varin, Matt Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Mike Colsten, Brian Weaver, Jerry Higbie Jr., Joey Colsten, Rick Laubach, Danny Creeden, Danny Johnson, Mike Mahaney, Neal Williams, Richard Smith, Danny Tyler, Ken Titus, Justin Holland, Jimmy Horton Jr., Brian Malcolm, Ryan Godown, Pat Ward, Kevin Bates, Brett Tonkin, Grant Hilfiger, Jim Gabriel Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Mel Schrufer, Barry White, Nick Rochinski. 


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  MIKE WILMOT, Chris Fleming, Matt Roberts, Mike Stoddard, Gary Roberts, Jake Maynard, Brad Sites, Logan Terry, Brian Steigerwald, Kevan Cook, Jared Spalding, Jason Benjamin, David Yehl, Jason Tuttle, Tanner Harpell, Mike Smith, Tony Harris, Charlie Gilbert, Shaun Bruce, Scott Bennett, Harry Ely, Nick Griest, J.J. Courcy.


CRATE SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  ALEX STANTON, Tyler Boniface, Tyler Dipple, Butch Green, Donnie Lawson Jr., Eric Palmer, Kyle Rohner, Josh Keesey, Grant Hilfiger, Greg Martin, Brett Wright, Dusty Barton, Joseph Judge, Michael Dubois, Westly Campbell, Mike Prentice, Bob Buono, Irvan Joslin, Randy Gates, Rick Lamont, Brandon Walters, Mike Traver, Ray Smith, Kyle Plumstead, Travis Smith.


600 C.C. MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  NICK MADY, Richie Hitzler, Jonathon Pepe, Butch Getz, Aaron Bowes, Will Eastman, Brian Mady, Jeremy Guistwite, Brad French, Jose Pepe, Marty Bunker, Ian Williamson, Jaime Frantz, Kailee Dimorier, Shaun Burd, Justin Dimorier, Jordyn Mohr, Tim VanHorn Jr. Nathan Brinker, Kyle Fallis, Steven Sherwood, Abbey Price, John Lakatos, Sean Barchik.


FOUR CYLINDER OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  two winners – overall Duane Kinne, rear wheel drive:  Chris Sherman, Jason Colwell, Adam Gilbert, Guy Raymond, Chad Walters, Amber Pierce, Mike Springstead, Brandon Clapperton.






Like us on Facebook!