Barry White nets $2,000 for Modified Season Championship Victory!









KIRKWOOD, NYSometimes in racing nice guys do finish first.  Barry White is a shining example of this as he recorded the victory in the Modified 50 lap Season Championship at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday night.  The victory netted White $2,000. 


The month of August for White was one to forget leading up to the Championship night.  While running in fifth a few weeks back the fourth place car spun out in front of him collecting his car and ending his night.  Another night of mechanical problems and then in the last race White slammed off the backstretch wall doing extensive damage.  Fortunately the Season Championship took place in September and the month of August was behind the Keystone State driver.


White would lead the entire distance in the 50 lap Modified event on Saturday night.  He and Mike Clapperton had a stellar battle for the lead throughout the event with Clapperton slipping past on two occasions during the event.  While the leaders had a great battle up front the racing was intense behind them.  “Mr. Excitement” at the quarter mile, Brian Puckett was a man on the move early in the race using his familiar outside line on the speedway to move forward.  Jim Gabriel, Jr., Justin Holland, Danny Creeden, Shawn Walker and Puckett all put on a great show during the early stages of the race. 


The red flag would fly on lap 35 for a multi car jingle on the homestretch that blocked the straightaway.  Prior to the start of racing Holland entered the pit area with a right front flat tire after making contact with Gabriel laps prior.  When racing resumed White and Clapperton continued their great battle for the lead as Gabriel was now in the third spot with Creeden and Walker in the top five. On lap 46 Creeden worked past Gabriel for third place but ran out of time to track the leaders down.  At the finish it would be White, Clapperton, Creeden, Gabriel and Walker rounding the top five. 


The Sportsman 25 lap Season Championship event saw P.J. Goodwin dart out in to the lead.  Goodwin had a great race with Ricky Ross Jr. during the early stages.  On lap 11 Chris Wood took over the point coming from his fourth place starting spot.  Wood would go on to lead the remainder of the way to post his second victory of the season.  Ross had his career best finish in second with Mike Austin having another solid run in third.  Nick Petrilak finished fourth and locked up his first ever Five Mile Point Speedway Track Championship in the process.  A.J. Lord had another top five finish by coming home in the fifth position.


Jason Butler entered the evening with a mathematical shot of winning the Street Stock track championship.  He needed to win and have a bad finish for point leader Ryan Stone.  Butler did his part by leading the entire 25 laps of the Season Championship event to record his sixth victory of the season.  Ryan Stone did his part as well by finishing third he claimed his first ever Five Mile Point Speedway Track Championship.  Butler was followed across the line by Tyler Yeagle, Stone, Randy Marsh and Todd Sutliff.


Scott Bennett had already locked up the IMCA Modified Track Championship entering the evening and took advantage of the event to test his brand new Harris chassis he was taking to Boone, Iowa the next morning.  This left the 25 lap feature event racing wide open.  Rookie Tanner Harpell led the field down for the green flag but the outside line quickly proved to again be the fast way around the quarter mile as Matt Roberts hustled out front.  Roberts behind the wheel of his dads machine would go on to lead every lap enroute to his first ever fmp victory.  Roberts had led the first nine laps the week prior only to have mechanical woes in his own car sideline him and derail his victory hopes on that night.  Jason Tuttle finished second followed by Joe Cole, Charlie Gilbert and Shawn Bruce.


Andy Brigham left no doubt who the Champion of the Expert Lightning Class for 2011 was.  Brigham took the lead on lap 15 and went on to record his sixth victory of the season.  The victory also locked up the Track Championship for Brigham, his first ever at the speedway.  Josh Wilbur was the Lightning Cat Novice feature winner with Scott Heeman claiming the Track Championship in that class.  Wendy Elliott not only was the A League of Their Own Winner on Saturday but the victory also made her the Track Champion of the class for 2011.


Event notes…Six of the seven 2011 Track Champions were first time ever champions at the speedway as “changing of the guard” had taken place at the speedway…The young talent at the speedway is certainly impressive…All 26 Modified teams signed in started the feature event…18 of the original 26 starters finished the race…Five Mile Point Speedway will be silent until Saturday, October 8th with the running of Brett Deyo’s Short Track SuperNationals


MODIFIED SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (50):  BARRY WHITE, Mike Clapperton, Danny Creeden, Jim Gabriel Jr., Shaun Walker, Brian Puckett, Brett Tonkin, Stewart Friesen, Alex Tonkin, Mike Nagel Jr., Justin Holland, Nick Rochinski, Kevin Bates, Danny Tyler, Scott Brady, Jamie Batzel, Glenn Knapp, Richard Smith, Dwayne Robbins, Rob Rowe, Brian Malcolm, Tim Votra, Mike Colsten, Ed Harris, Ted Miexsall, Ken Titus. 2011 Track Champion:  Stewart Friesen


SPORTSMAN SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25): CHRIS WOOD, Ricky Ross Jr., Mike Austin, Nick Petrilak, A.J. Lord, Jon Carpenter, P.J. Goodwin, Larry Hillis, Harold Humphries, Jeff Crambo, Bill Spoonhower, John Juhl, Justin Andrews, Mike Loney, John Kovatch, Dusty Barton, Tyler Singleton, Randy Yaple, Jerry Tonti, Byron Worthing, Larry Hillis III, Chance Spoonhower.  2011 Track Champion: Nick Petrilak


IMCA MODIFIED SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  MATT ROBERTS, Jason Tuttle, Joe Cole, Charlie Gilbert, Shawn Bruce, K C Cole, Tanner Harpell, Tyler Stoddard, Dan Burman, Gary Dence, Jeremy Hoyt, Mike Wilmot, Mike Stoddard.  DNS Jay Hoyt, Scott Bennett. 2011 Track Champion:  Scott Bennett


STREET STOCK SEASON CHAMPONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (25):  JASON BUTLER, Tyler Yeagle, Ryan Stone, Randy Marsh, Todd Sutliff, Joe Warren, Shane Wolf Jr., Dan Babcock, Rob Snow, Steve Stalker. 2011 Track Champion:  Ryan Stone


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  ANDY BRIGHAM, Dave Husnay, Troy Kress, Jeff Hayes, Andy Colwell, Travis Forest, Travis Hayes, Adam Gilbert, Dennis Keesler, Dave Simms, Dave Desmond, Doug Nelson, Jason Colwell, Dave Bainbridge, Duane Kinne, John Siedlecky, Damien Bausenwein, Anthony Seward.  2011 Track Champion:  Andy Brigham.


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  JOSH WILBUR, Tucker Harpell, Wendy Elliott, Nichole Bausenwein, Ronald Welsch, Leigh Fuller.   2011 Track Champion:  Scott Heeman


A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  WENDY ELLIOTT, Nichole Bausenwein, Leigh Fuller.  2011 Track Champion:  Wendy Elliott.


For additional information please log on to the official Five Mile Point Speedway website at or phone the speedway offices at (607) 775-5555 you can also find us on Facebook or email the offices directly at