For Immediate Release

Re: May 3 FMP Results




KIRKWOOD, NEW YORK….Kevin Bates drove to victory on the official 64th season opener night at Five Mile Point Speedway. Bates notched the win in his first start of the season after an impressive second place finish in the 2013 modified point standings. The victory in the 30 lap feature was worth $2,000.  The Modifieds will compete in Twin 20 lap feature events this upcoming Saturday.


Kenny Hammond added to his strong start in 2014 with the victory on the second night of points in the Sportsman division. Will Eastman lead wire to wire to claim the victory in the 600cc Modifieds. Dave Simms was the winner of the Lightning Cat Expert 15 lap main event, while Ronnie Welch collected his first career win in the Lightning Cat Novice main event. Mother Nature would claim the remaining events.


Barry White and PJ Goodwin brought the 22 car strong modified field to the green flag. Goodwin would grab the initial race lead on the outside of the speedway as he powered around White on the first lap. Goodwin would lead the first 3 circuits until Bates came up to join in the mix. Bates started the race in the 3rd position and wasted no coming up to take the lead as Goodwin would slide back to second.


While Bates took over the lead, Modified rookie Nick Petrilak moved up to take over position two from Goodwin. A lap 10 caution would put Bates and Petrilak together on the front row for the restart, as Goodwin, Brian Malcolm, and Tyler Siri made out the top 5. Bates would take the outside for the restart while Petrilak started alongside him. The two would charge side by side in to turn 1, while Bates would get a huge jump off of the second turn.


In the closing stages of the race, Bates would converge on a group of slower cars, while Petrilak closed in to challenge for the race lead. As Bates picked his way through the traffic, Petrilak went to work on the outside of the track looking for a way around Bates. Just when it looked like Petrilak may have a bid for the lead, he would get in to the outside wall in turn 1 causing him to lose momentum. Bates took the win, while Petrilak finished second, a solid outing for Siri scored him third, Goodwin would finish fourth, and Chris Wood would complete the top five.


Once again, tire wear would prove to be no issue as the American Racer tires showed no signs of wear. The racing surface produced three and four wide racing as multi grooves  opened up on the quarter mile.


Kenny Hammond collected his first win of the season as he drove to victory in the Hunts Auto Service number 30 car. Defending IMCA track champion Mike Wilmot lead the first five laps in his number 71m machine. Hammond started in the third position and wasted no time moving up to battle for the lead with Wilmot. On lap 6 Hammond would make the move to pass Wilmot on the inside of the track. Hammond would lead the remaining 15 laps en route to the victory. Hammond would be followed across the line by team cars Brian White, and Eddie White while Wilmot would finish fourth and Tom Eiklor would complete the top 5.


Dave Simms raced to victory in the Lightning Cat Expert 15 lap race, while Ronnie Welch collected his first career win in the Lightning Cat Novice race. Will Eastman was victorious in the 600cc modifieds, while the IMCA modifieds, Street Stocks, Factory Stocks, and Figure 8’s were postponed as rain converged on the speedway. The IMCA Modifieds, and the Street stocks will run two features next week, while the Factory Stocks and Figure 8’s will run two features on May 17th.


Danny Tyler was the winner of the American Racer Cup tire giveaway for the modifieds, while Billy Moyer won the $85 gift certificate in the American Racer Cup Sportsman draw.   This Saturday will be Magic 101.7 FM Windsor Community Night at the speedway with Modified Twin 20’s just a part of a big night of racing.   Racing begins at 6 p.m.


Modified Feature:  Kevin Bates, Nick Petrilak, Tyler Siri, P.J. Goodwin, Chris Wood, Brian Malcolm, Danny Creeden, Chad Cook, Brian Weaver, Mike Colsten, Jackie Brown, Joey Colsten, Jamie Batzel, Ken Titus, Danny Tyler, Mike Mamanna, Glenn Knapp, Barry White, Byron Worthing, George Hildebrandt, Jeff Crambo, Kenny Hildebrandt.


Sportsman Feature: Kenny Hammond, Brian White, Eddie White, Mike Wilmot, Tom Eiklor, Travis Smith, Mike Decker, Randy Green, Brad Szulewski, Mike Austin, Bryan Batzel, Greg Turner, Doug Snyder, Brad Cicio, Tom Thompson, Larry Hillis. DNS - Wayne Ross...
Crate Bonus Winner: Greg Turner.


600 c.c. Modified Feature: Will Eastman, Korey Inglin, Kyle Fallis, Steve Sherwood, Kyle Ingling, Matt Priscott, Jamie Frantz, Joe McCabe, Dustin Gorick, Doug Windhausen, Tim VanHorn, Drew Fallis.


Lightning Cat Expert Finish: Dave Simms, Devon Bailey, Burt Maynard, Adam Gilbert, Tucker Harpell, Kyle Ross, Robert Nober, Travis Forest, Damian Bausenwein, Bob Kress, Brian Pope, Frank Smith, Rick Lunn, 6jr, Brian Zaczek, 820, Sheldon Whitman, Jeff Hayes. DNS - Jason Colwell, Joe Russell. 


Lightning Cat Novice: Ronnie Welch, Jeremy Warren, Dave Rauschmeier.



For additional information please phone the Five Mile Point Speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to for more.