J.R Crouse Wins May 2nd Modified Main Event.



RE:  May 2nd event

CONTACT:  Andrew Harpell – fivemilepoint1@aol.com (775-5555)




KIRKWOOD, NYThe official 59th season opener took place this past Saturday night at Five Mile Point Speedway.  J.R. Crouse was the winner of the Modified 30 lap point race opener.  Mike Smith was the IMCA point race winner with Jamie Batzel taking top honors in the Sportsman.  The Pure Stock win went to Charlie Gilbert with the Lightning Cat Expert class being won by Cody Decker and the novice division win going to Tyler Harpell.


Wade Decker and J.R. Crouse sat on the front row of the 30 lap Modified feature event on Saturday night but it was third place starter James Cornell that wasted no time as he took the lead on lap number 1.  Cornell looked strong as he quickly pulled away from second place running Crouse and Decker.  An unusually high number of cautions slowed the pace of the event mostly for minor spins.  Two drivers that took advantage were Mike Bowman who started tenth and Tom McGurrin who started in twelfth.  Both were on the move during the first half of the event.


By lap 20 Cornell looked to be comfortably in charge as Crouse and Decker continued to chase him down as now Stewart Friesen Bowman and Mike Colsten made up the top five. The final caution of the event occurred on lap 22 for a slowing Danny Tyler.  On the restart Cornell appeared to be developing a problem as Crouse quickly tried to cash in.  On lap 25 Crouse powered underneath Cornell for the lead.  Cornell continued to fade as the laps wound down.  At the finish Crouse would go on for the popular victory with Decker having his best FMP finish in second.  Bowman, Friesen and McGurrin completed the top five. 


Crouse commented on his victory, “We had a tough start to the night when we broke the frame in practice tonight.  We got the car back together and it felt great all evening long.”  Cornell summed up his final laps of the feature event, “We had a right rear tire going down in the late stages of the event which caused me to push up the race track.  I was fighting the car the final ten laps just trying to finish.”


The IMCA Modified feature event was the first race since the passing of 2006 Track Champion Mike Stolarcyk, III.  The race was filled with emotions as a number of invaders took part in the event to honor Mike.  Every driver in the field wanted to win this feature as Mike was such a key part in the growth of the class at Five Mile Point Speedway.  Dale Caswell and Mike Smith sat on the front row for the start of the 20 lap feature event.  Smith took advantage of his outside starting spot and led the distance for the victory.  On lap 19 the entire field slowed as “Big” Mike Stolarcyk drove the 2006 championship car of “little” Mikes on to the speedway to lead the field down for the double checkered flags.  The field followed the number III across the finish line to a standing ovation from the packed grandstand.  At the conclusion of the event Mike Smith donated his race winnings to the education fund of Mike Stolarcyk, III children.  Tom Eiklor was credited with second place followed by Scott Bennett, Cliff Pierce and Joe Cole.


Jamie Batzel took the lead from Jerry Craig on lap 4 of the Sportsman main event and never looked back taking the checkers in the 20 lapper.  Brad Grim, opening day winner Grant Hilfiger, Chris Wood and Joey Colsten completed the top five.


Charlie Gilbert made a last lap pass of Tyler Yeagle to win the Pure Stock feature event.  Yeagle, who was looking for his first win wound up second followed by Shane Wolf, Jr., T.J. Anderson and Jim Sykes.


The Lightning Cat Expert feature was won by Cody Decker with Tyler Harpell winning the novice feature event.


The “A League of Their Own” feature event was postponed after a lap one incident involving Tryntje Keesler.  Keeslers car slammed the homestretch wall after the throttle stuck in her car.  Keesler was transported to Wilson Hospital with a possible leg fracture. No other details were available at the time of this story.  The event will be made up on Sunday, May 17th.


For more information please phone the speedway offices at 607-775-5555 or log on to www.fivemilepointspeedway.net for more.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL IMCA MODIFIED FINISH:  MIKE SMITH, Tom Eiklor, Scott Bennett, Cliff Pierce, Joe Cole, Mike Wilmot, Mike Pratchler, Russ Jennings, Dale Caswell, Patti Simpson, Mike Stoddard, K.C. Cole, Gary Roberts, Jeremy Shaw, Steve Simpson, Jason Makosky.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL MODIFIED FINISH:  J.R. CROUSE, Wade Decker, Mike Bowman, Stewart Friesen, Tom McGurrin, Mike Colsten, Kevin Bates, James Cornell, Jim Gabriel Jr., Shaun Walker, Nick Rochinski, Brent Wilcox, Eric Palmer, Joey Colsten, Brian Malcolm, Brian Weaver, Danny Tyler, Ricky Yetter, Glenn Knapp, Frank Yankowski, Joe Krisovich, Bobby Trapper, Ken Titus, George Kostalansky.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL  SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH:  JAMIE BATZEL, Brad Grim, Grant Hilfiger, Chris Wood, Joey Colsten, Jeff Crambo, Brian Decker, Dwayne Robbins, Steve Yankowski, Adam MacGeorge, Harry Cook Jr., Larry Lippincott, Chris Stuhl, Billy Spoonhower, Jerry Tonti, Mike Daugherty, Jerry Craig, Charlie Hendrickson, Casey Palmer, Mike Austin, Butch Klinger, Jack Champion, Justin Holland, Brad Rothaupt. 


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH:  CHARLIE GILBERT, Tyler Yeagle, Shane Wolf Jr., T.J. Anderson, Jim Sykes, Jonathon Carpenter, Steve Polhamus, Duane Codington, Dwayne Jackson, Mike Codington, Dave Mutz, Ryan Codington, Herb Penny, Eric Beach, Todd Sutliff, Dave VanBuren, Tom Garren, Shannon Oswald, Josh Towner, Brad Butcher, Dave Conklin, Butch Green, Shannon Butts, Rob Snow, Norm Whittemore.  DNS – Ray Lindquist.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT FEATURE FINISH:  CODY DECKER, Kenny Underwood, Frank Kennedy, Dennis Keesler, Travis Hayes, Tim Price, Don Doster Jr., Todd Stanton, Dave Simms, Rob Slezak, Josh Newell, Jason Colwell, Andy Colwell, Rob Nober, Jeff Hayes, Gary Kinne, Josh Wilder, Justin Slezak.  DNS Dan Smith, Tim Perry.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS OFFICIAL LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE FEATURE FINISH:  TYLER HARPELL, Dave Bainbridge, Bill Titus, Shawn Colwell, Todd Titus, Scott Heeman, Kyle Ross.  DNS Brian Titus, Matt Dunham.


MODIFIED DNQ’S – STARTING LINEUP FOR MAY 9TH MODIFIED GUARANTEED STARTERS RACE:  Matt Latwinski, Jackie Brown, Carl Nagel, Gary Griffin, Barry White, Mike Schane, Jason Andrews, Joe Eisenhauer, Mike Lartz, Eric Stephens Jr., Chris Ostrowsky, Kenny Hildebrandt, Tim Votra, Joel Batzel, Bobby Puckett, Tom Oleski, Justin Andrews, Darrin Schuler, Butch Cerullo, J.R. Hurlburt, Dan Morden.