May 14th, 2011


Twin Mod 20’s to Holland and Friesen.



RE:  Modified Twin 20’s

CONTACT: (775-5555)




KIRKWOOD, NYAnother night of firsts took center stage at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday night with several first time feature winners.  In the IMCA Modified Division Shawn Bruce was a first time winner, Jason Butler was a first time winner in the Street Stock division and Adam Gilbert was a first time feature winner in the Lightning Cat Novice class.  The Twin 20 Modified Feature wins went to Justin Holland (a Modified rookie) and Stewart Friesen.  Nick Petrilak celebrated his birthday with the win in the Sportsman feature. 


The Modified division had Twin 20 lap feature events on the agenda for Saturday, the first of two this season at the quarter mile oval.  The first feature saw Jim Gabriel, Jr. and Joey Colsten in the front row for the drop of the green.  A spinning Nick Rochinski immediately brought out the yellow flag with only one circuit in.  On the restart Gabriel moved out ahead but rookie Justin Holland powered to the outside of the quarter mile to begin his pursuit.  Holland worked past on lap 3 and would never be seriously challenged the remainder of the way.  A great battle ensued between Gabriel, Shaun Walker, Danny Tyler, Stewart Friesen, Ken Titus and Kevin Bates.  The group exchanged spots lap after lap with Gabriel relinquishing second place to Walker on lap 7 only to retake the spot on lap 8.  Holland would go on for his first point victory in the Modified division at the quarter mile.  Gabriel would hold off Friesen for second place by inches with Walker and Bates completing the top five. 


By virtue of a re-draw Tim Votra and Titus started on the front row in the second Twin 20.  Votra hustled out to the early lead with Titus in tow.  The caution would fly on lap 7 with Friesen now up to third place.  Friesen wasted no time as he advanced past both Titus and Votra to take command on lap 8.  Friesen would pull away for his second victory of the season at the quarter mile.  Votra would hold off Titus the balance of the event with Bates and Walker rounding out the top five spots. 


Nick Petrilak took the lead on lap 2 from Joel Batzel in the 20 lap Sportsman feature event and never looked back.  Batzel ran in second place until lap 14 when right rear tire went soft forcing him to pit.  Petrilak would go on for the victory, his first of the season.  P.J. Goodwin charged from eighth starting spot to claim second with Bryan Batzel securing his best ever feature finish in third.  Defending Track Champion Mike Loney was fourth with Chris Wood finishing in fifth.


The excitement in the IMCA Modified division continues to grow every Saturday night as another tremendous feature event took place.  Shawn Bruce took the lead from many time Street Stock Champion Charlie Gilbert on lap 3 and went on to post his first ever FMP victory.  Gary Roberts charged from seventh to finish second with Scott Bennett rallying from tenth to finish third.  Brad Weaver and KC Cole rounded out the top five.


Another first time feature winner occurred in the 20 lap Street Stock main event.  Jason Butler took the lead from Mike Codington and would go on to lead the remainder of the way for his first ever fmp feature victory.  Butler held off opening night winner Ryan Stone.  Stone finished second followed by Tyler Yeagle, Codington and Randy Marsh.


Andy Brigham kept his Lightning Cat win streak alive by posting the victory in the Expert Division main event.  Brigham took the lead on lap 2 and was not challenged from that point.  Jeff Hayes, John Siedlecky Jr., Dennis Keesler and Dave Musney completed the top five.  Adam Gilbert recorded his first ever victory in the Lightning Cat Novice main event.  He was followed by Dustin Desmond and Debbie Stalker.


Counter Points…A fantastic night of racing took place on Saturday with great action in all classes…All seven feature events were in the books by 9:30 a.m. on a damp and cool evening…Rain had swept through the area during the day but track crews did an outstanding job getting the track ready for action…Modified Twin 20 lap features will take place again on Saturday, August 20th…Barry White was drawn as the random winner of the free American Racer Modified tire as part of the American Racer Cup program…Racing continues this Sunday, May 22nd with the CRSA Sprint Cars, RoC Street Stock Tour, $1,000 to win Crate Sportsman Open, 600 c.c. Modifieds and Lightning Cats…


American Racer Modified Twin 20 Official Feature Finish Race 1:  Justin Holland, Jim Gabriel Jr., Stewart Friesen, Shaun Walker, Kevin Bates, Danny Tyler, Ken Titus, Tim Votra, Mike Nagel Jr., Jamie Batzel, Jim Crawn, Nick Rochinski, Joey Colsten, Mike Bowman, Dan Vauter, Eric Palmer, Scott Brady, Brian Puckett, Glenn Knapp, Dwayne Robbins, Barry White


American Racer Modified Twin 20 Official Feature Finish Race 2:

Stewart Friesen, Tim Votra, Ken Titus, Kevin Bates, Shaun Walker, Justin Holland, Jim Gabriel Jr., Nick Rochinski, Mike Bowman, Danny Tyler, Dan Vauter, Scott Brady, Jamie Batzel, Eric Palmer, Glenn Knapp, Dwayne Robbins, Barry White, Joey Colsten, Mike Nagel Jr., Jim Crawn, Brian Puckett. 


American Racer Sportsman Feature 20 laps:  Nick Petrialk, P.J. Goodwin, Brian Batzel, Mike Loney, Chris Wood, Mike Austin, Mike Sabia, Jerry Tonti, Jeff Crambo, Justin Andrews, A.J. Lord, Joel Batzel, Chris Ostrowsky, John Kovatch.  DNS John Scarbrough.


IMCA Modified Official Feature Finish 20 laps:  Shawn Bruce, Gary Roberts, Scott Bennett, Brad Weaver, K.C. Col, Mike Wilmot, Charlie Gilbert, Joe Cole, Patti Simpson, Gary Dence, Jason Tuttle, Darl Ellis, Mike Stoddard, Dan Burman, Tanner Harpell, Jay Hoyt, Rob Sleazak, Justin Sleazak.


American Racer Street Stock Feature 20 laps:  Jason Butler, Ryan Stone, Tyler Yeagle, Mike Codington, Randy Marsh, Rob Snow, Joe Warren, Randy Richards, Chad Sidoni, Todd Sutliff, Doug Stack Jr., Kyle Ross.


Lightning Cat Expert Official Feature Finish 15 laps:  Andy Brigham, Jeff Hayes, John Siedlecky, Dennis Keesler, Dave Musney, Andy Colwell, Damien Bausenwein, Anthony Seward, Dave Desmond, Kenny Underwood, Jason Colwell, Hank Bausenwein, Dave Bainbridge, Duane Kinne, Tom Desmond, Travis Hayes, Dave Simms, Troy Kress.


Lightning Cat Novice Official Feature Finish 12 laps:  Adam Gilbert, Dustin Desmond, Deb Stalker. 


For additional information please log on to the official Five Mile Point Speedway website at or phone the speedway offices at (607) 775-5555 you can also find us on Facebook or email the offices directly at  If you would like to receive updated text alerts regarding race day weather please text us at 607-775-5555.