December 5th, 2005

RoC Dirt/Asphalt and Five Mile Point Awards Banquet Set For January 7; RoC Dirt Tour Will Return In '06
By Brett Deyo

BINGHAMTON, NY- The Binghamton Regency Hotel and Conference Center in downtown Binghamton will be abuzz with activity on Sat., Jan. 7.

The top point-getters from the 2005 season on the Race of Champions Dirt Modified and Sportsman Tours, Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour and Five Mile Point Speedway will be honored at a gala Awards Banquet.

Numerous special awards will also be handed out, along with point fund monies. Tickets are $35 each and must be purchased by Jan. 1. No tickets will be sold at the door. A group of 10 tickets purchased together comprises a reserved table.

"It's definitely going to be a sellout," said Andrew Harpell, Five Mile Point promoter/owner and the director of both RoC Dirt and Asphalt. "It's important to get your tickets as soon as possible. I'm looking forward to a festive night with a wide variety of people getting together."

Meal choices for the evening include 8 oz. Prime rib, Chicken Cordon Bleu and Pasta Primavera. For those planning to stay at the Binghamton Regency after the Banquet, there are a limited number of dramatically reduced rooms available.

Please phone the hotel directly at 1-800-723-7676 or locally (607) 722-7575 and make mention of the Race of Champions/Five Mile Point Awards Banquet to receive the discount.

Banquet forms have been mailed to Five Mile Point and RoC competitors. For further information, contact the FMP/RoC office at (607) 775-5555 or (607) 238-0432. Competitors must be present at the Banquet to receive their awards.

Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa., will be honored as the RoC Asphalt Modified overall champion. The son of NASCAR Modified standout Tony Hirschman also topped the Tour's North Region. Zane Zeiner of Bath, Pa., won the South Region title.

Bobby Varin of Sharon Springs, N.Y., and Mitch Gibbs of North Norwich, N.Y., tied for the RoC Dirt Modified Tour overall championship. Varin was the North Region champ and Bethel, Pa.'s Jeff Strunk topped the South Region.

Erwinna, Pa.'s Jason Hamilton earned the RoC Dirt Sportsman Tour title in his second season driving a full-size stock car. Hamilton was previously a 270cc Micro-Sprint regular.

2005 Five Mile Point Speedway champions include Brian Weaver (Modified), Eric Palmer (Sportsman), Kevin Cole (FMP Modified), Bill Trego (Street Stock) and Mahlon Shoemaker (Pure Stock).

News and other information on RoC Dirt, RoC Asphalt or Five Mile Point can be obtained on the web at, or


Yes, the Race of Champions Dirt Modified and Sportsman Tours will return in 2006. Andrew Harpell confirmed that fact while in Florida last week at the Performance Racing Industries show.

"I've already started working on next year's schedule," said Harpell, the Tour's administrative director. "You can expect more information to be out in the coming weeks, probably after the holidays."

Harpell was pleased with the Tour's inaugural '05 season and expects a similar schedule to be in place for the coming year. He added that the Sportsman Tour would most likely be divided into two regions, similar to the RoC Dirt and Asphalt Modified schedule.

"There will be a few surprises and new ideas," he said. "But we will build on what we accomplished in year one."