April 11th, 2003


KIRKWOOD, NY…Mitch Gibbs, Brett Spoor, Mike Stoddard, Mahlon Shoemaker and Brian Garvey were all honored Friday as 2002 Track Champions at Five Mile Point Speedway. The awards dinner took place at Donoli’s in Apalachin.

Gibbs was the 358 Modified Track Champion after a tremendous season. Gibbs tied Chuck Akulis for most wins in a season with 13. He won the Irv Heath Memorial, 52nd Anniversary Special, the Binghamton Pepsi-Cola Southern Tier 100 and the Southern Tier Open. He was the first driver since Stan Ploski in 1973 to win both the 100 lapper and the Open in the same year.

Gibbs was followed in the standings by Don Hart, Jr., Glenn Knapp, Rich Keehle, Dana Wagner, Harry Marvin, Jr., Butch Klinger, Dave Locke, Billy Thornton and Dan Hineline.

The 2002 Street Stock Track Champion was Brett Spoor, who completed the best year of his career. He had five feature wins and 13 top five finishes during the 2002 season. Spoor was followed in the standings by Ken Sparks, Jr., Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Pete Sobol, Jerry Tonti, Jerry Liford, Pat Nolan, Byron Pitcher, Randy Rolison and Mike Mills.

Mike Stoddard won the Grand American Modified point title by just one point. He garnered four feature wins and 13 top five finishes enroute to the title. Following Stoddard in the points were Jeff Cleveland, Bob Chapman, Charlie Gilbert, Kevin Cole, Joe Cole, Gordy Isham, Joe Novak, Bill Hawkins and Pete Hoover.

Mahlon Shoemaker won his first Pure Stock Track Championship. Shoemaker captured four feature wins and 12 top five finishes. He was chased in the final points by Randy Percival, Walt McClenon, Bryan Lindsey, Harry Cook, Harry Marvin III, Mike Lartz, Jim Ortiz, Roger Salai and Jerry Whitmarsh.

Brian Garvey became the final Figure 8 Track Champion as the class has been discontinued. Garvey had five feature wins and 15 top five finishes. He was followed in the final points by Steve Dechow, Fran Reed, Bubba Folk and Stuart Podasso.

Many special awards were presented throughout the evening. Rookie of the Year honors went to Ray Menard (Mod), Ralph Shoemaker (SS), Jeremy Shaw (PS) and Jeff Cleveland (GAM). Most Improved Driver awards went to Jim Potts (Mod), Pete Sobol (SS), Mahlon Shoemaker (PS) and Mike Stoddard (GAM).

Best Appearing Car awards went to Butch Klinger (Mod), Brett Spoor (SS), Mahlon Shoemaker (PS), Mike Stoddard (GAM), Brian Garvey (Fig 8). Hard Luck awards went to Dave Locke (Mod), Randy Rolison, (SS), Jeremy Shaw (PS) and Joe Cole (PS).

The Most Popular Drivers were Rich Keehle (Mod), Brett Spoor (SS), Harry Marvin III (PS), Jason Makosky (GAM) and Bubba Folk (Fig 8).

The Glenn Knapp Sr. Car Owner of the Year was presented to Roger Heroux. Heroux owned the cars of Mitch Gibbs, R.C. Faigle and Jim Potts which together took home 15 feature wins.

The Irv Heath Memorial Dedication Award went to Sandie Heath Phelps. She is the daughter of track founders Irv and Anna Heath and has been involved in numerous capacities at the track since it opened in 1951.

With the 2002 season now behind, all eyes are on this Saturdays 2003 Season Opener. Spring Championship events will take place for all divisions highlighted by a 50 lapper for the 358 Modifieds. The Street Stocks, UMP Modifieds and Pure Stocks will also compete in extra distance events with additional money and points on the line.

Gates will open on Saturday at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps are at 5:00 p.m. World of Racing Motorsports will hold an Easter Egg Hunt for kids age 8 and under prior to the start of the races. The first heat will get the green flag at our new start time of 6:15 p.m.

Five Mile Point Speedway is located at the intersection of routes 17 and 81 in Kirkwood, New York, near Binghamton. For more information please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto our website at