RE:  2008 Modified Season Opening Point Race


PHONE:  607-775-5555




KIRKWOOD, NY…Defending Race of Champions Dart Dirt Tour Champion Pat Ward made a rare Saturday night appearance at Five Mile Point Speedway payoff for the Gypsum race team by recording his second ever career Modified victory in the 58th season point race opener.  Nick Rochinski recorded the Sportsman win with Steve Deinhardt notching Pure Stock honors and Gary Roberts collecting his first IMCA Modified victory.  The Lightning Cat and A League Of Their Own Features were rained out and will be made up this Saturday.


Glenn Knapp hustled out to the early lead in the 30 lap Modified feature event.  Knapp led the first two circuits prior to James Cornell working past for the top spot.  Defending Race of Champions Dart Dirt Tour Sportsman Champion Dan Creeden was working his way to the front quickly from his tenth place starting position.  Creeden closed in on Cornell and made a pass for the lead on lap 10 on the outside of the quarter mile.  Ward moved into second place one lap later as Brian Weaver and Knapp challenged Cornell for third place.  Creeden continued to run on the high side of the quarter mile as Ward began to quickly close the gap.  As the race approached the halfway mark Ward dove to the low side of Creeden and took over the lead. 


On lap 17 the caution would fly and fifth place runner Knapp headed to the pits with a right front flat tire derailing his second straight strong run.  This moved Weaver up to fourth and Carl Nagel now broke in to the top five.  Weaver quickly went to work on Cornell for third place and made a pass on the high side to take over third with only ten laps remaining.  He then set his sites on Creeden and took over the runner-up slot on lap 24.  The final thirteen circuits would go caution free as Ward was able to open his lead up prior to Weaver capturing second place.  The final ten laps saw rain begin to fall but it would not slow the pace.  At the checkered Ward would hold on for the win over Weaver, Creeden, Cornell and Nagel.  Mike Colsten, Mitch Gibbs, J.R. Crouse, Tim Votra and Frank Yankowski completed the top ten.


Second year Sportsman driver Nick Rochinski took advantage of his front row starting position to lead the entire distance in the 20 lap Sportsman feature event.  An early caution on lap 3 would be the only time the caution would fly and Rochinski used the long green flag run to open up his winning margin over Joey Colsten.  This would mark the second straight runner-up finish for Colsten.  Butch Klinger charged to finish third with last weeks winner Justin Holland coming across the line in fourth.  Shaun Walker completed the top five.


Gary Roberts used a patient driving style to capture the 2007 IMCA Modified Track Championship at Five Mile Point Speedway.  Despite not winning a feature he locked up his first title last season.  On Saturday Roberts used that same patient driving style to collect his first feature win in the division.  Mike Stoddard held the point for the first 14 circuits as Roberts remained close throughout.  On lap 15 Roberts made his winning move and was able to hold off Stoddard during the final five laps.  Roberts started the race in the sixth position.  KC Cole wound up third followed by Jeremy Shaw and Joe Cole. 


Steve Deinhardt took the lead on lap 2 of the 20 lap Pure Stock feature event and would go on to lead the distance for his first victory at the quarter mile.  Jon Carpenter had another solid outing by finishing in second place with Earl Zimmer charging from eleventh starting position to finish third.  Mike Codington and Rich Talada completed the top five.


The Lightning Cat and A League of Their Own features were rained out and will be made up this Saturday night on Kirkwood Community night at the speedway.  All Kirkwood town residents with photo i.d. will be admitted in to the grandstand free of charge.


Counter Points…The pits were jammed with activity as 118 teams were on hand for the competition at the quarter mile…With the retirement of Defending Modified Track Champion Jim Crawn the point race will be wide open this season…Four former Modified Track Champions finished in the top seven slots (Weaver, Nagel, Colsten and Gibbs)…The remainder of the field is looking for their first ever Modified title…The Sportsman division has logged 40 feature laps of action with only one caution flag over two weeks…The new bleacher structure is expected to be fully completed for this Saturday’s racing action…The speedway surface was once again full of bite as multiple grooves of racing were available…The middle of turn 1 did break up but is expected to be in great shape for this Saturday as warm weather this week should provide track crews the opportunity to fix the area…All of the completed features were in the books by 9 p.m. on Saturday night as the rain then put a halt to the Lightning Cat and A League of Their Own main events…



FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  PAT WARD, Brian Weaver, Dan Creedan, James Cornell, Carl Nagel, Mike Colsten, Mitch Gibbs, J.R. Crouse, Tim Votra, Frank Yankowski, Chris Ostrowsky, J.R. Hurlburt, Bobby Puckett, Tom McGurrin, Justin Andrews, Glenn Knapp, Joe Batzel, Dennis Dietrich, Gary Griffin, Brent Wilcox, Ken Titus, Jesse Kline, Chris Weaver, Darrin Schuler.  DNQ Greg Tatich, Mike Ward, Barry White, Kevin Hartnett.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS SPORTSMAN FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  NICK ROCHINSKI, Joey Colsten, Butch Klinger, Justin Holland, Shaun Walker, Brian Puckett, Ladd Yeomans, Brad Grim, Chris Wood, Les Gillette, Mike Nagel Jr., JamieBatzel, Mike Austin, Harry Cook Jr., Charlie Hendrickson, Larry Hillis, Don Caldwell, Bruce Gould, Eric Stephens Jr.


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS PURE STOCK FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  STEVE DEINHARDT, Jon Carpenter, Earl Zimmer, Mike Codkington, Rich Talada, Shane Wolf, Joe Rafferty Sr., Toby Lehr, Joe Rafferty Jr., Corey Bond, Dave Conklin, Duane Codington, Chuck Culbertson, Todd Stuliff, Harry Marvin III, Glen Robinson, Kris Shimer, Tommy Groover, Buck Mills, Mike Koser, Charlie Gilbert, Josh French, Karl Shimer, Josh Towner.  DNS John Case


FRENCH’S AUTO PARTS IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  GARY ROBERTS, Mike Stoddard, KC Cole, Jeremy Shaw, Joe Cole, Scott George, George Proctor III, Bradley Dubois, Steve Simpson, Patti Simpson, Mike Partchler, Cliff Pierce, Jon Rochacevich, Mike Stolarcyk III, Ralph Jennings, Brad Weaver.  DNS Gary Dence.


LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE NUMBER ONE LINEUP:  Jeff Hayes, Dan Burnett, Dave Simms, Andy Brigham, Cody Decker, Tim Leonard, Dave Bainbridge, Bill Titus, Eric Bonner, Philip Clapper, No. 96


LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE NUMBER TWO LINEUP:  Tim Price, Dennis Keesler, Nick Alexander, Jason Bond, Gary Kinne, Jason Caldwell, Scott Watson, Eric Sigler, Travis Hayes, Frank Kennedy, Dan Smith.