RE:  May 10, 2008 race results


PHONE:  607-775-5555





KIRKWOOD, NYBrian Weaver returned to victory lane at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday night but this time it was a regular season Modified point race victory.  Weaver won the opening day T3 Series event in April at the quarter mile.  Brad Alger was the Sportsman winner with Jonathon Carpenter copping the Pure Stock main event.  Scott Bennett won the IMCA main with a pair of Lightning Cat victories going to Dan Burnett and Gary Kinne.  Laurie Fallis swept the A League of Their Own Features.


Tom McGurrin was the early race leader in the 30 lap Modified feature event on Saturday night.   McGurrin opened up a sizeable lead over second place runner Jesse Kline in the early going.  McGurrin looked to be the guy to beat as he quickly pulled away from the entire field.  On lap 10 the first caution of the event would come out as Chris Ostrowsky ended up in the front stretch wall after contact with Mike Colsten.  During the caution McGurrin headed to the pits with an overheating issue.  This gave the lead to Brian Weaver for the restart.  Another caution on the restart created a tangle off of turn four that resulted in an early end of the night for Jimmy Johnson, Scott VanGorder and Dennis Dietrich.  The extended yellow flag period allowed McGurrin to make his way back on to the speedway without losing a lap.


The remaining 20 laps would see two cautions for minor incidents as Weaver set an extremely fast pace out front.  Waver would go on to lead the remainder of the way for his second win in the first three races.  Jesse Kline held on to second place with Carl Nagel rallying late for a third place finish.  Glenn Knapp had another strong run which was good enough for fourth place and J.R. Hurlburt wound up in fifth.


Brad Alger took the lead from Jamie Batzel on lap 9 and went on to record his first Five Mile Point Speedway in the 20 lap Sportsman feature action.  Alger started in eleventh at the start of the event but took advantage of numerous cautions and pulled away during the second half of the race.  Ladd Yeomans finished in the runner-up slot with Jamie Batzel, Brian Puckett and Mike Loney rounding out the top five positions.


Jonathon Carpenter backed up consecutive solid finishes in the Pure Stock division by recording his first Five Mile Point Speedway feature win on Saturday.  Carpenter took the lead from Harry Marvin, III on lap 6 and would go on to hold off Shane Wolfe by less than half a car length at the finish.  Butch Green finished third with last weeks winner Steve Dienhardt in fourth and Joe Rafferty Jr. finishing in fifth.


Scott Bennett used a last lap effort to take the lead from Gary Roberts at the finish line and win by less than a foot in the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature on Saturday.  Roberts had led from lap 2 until the finish after working past Scott George at the start of the event.  Following Bennett and Roberts across the line was George, K.C. Cole and Tyler Stoddard.


Double Lightning Cat feature events were held with Gary Kinne and Dan Burnett splitting those races.  Laurie Fallis won both A League of Their Own features.  She and Kaye Brigham can both earn $200 bonuses if they beat the men in the first Lightning Cat features scheduled for this Saturday night…


Counter points…Over 130 race teams jammed the Five Mile Point Speedway pits on Saturday night for a great night of racing…This Saturday will be the fifth annual “Pack the Track Night” at the speedway…Grandstand admission is only $1…For more information please phone the Five Mile Point Speedway offices or log on to for more.


COUNTRY TOWN AUTO MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  BRIAN WEAVER, Jesse Kline, Carl Nagel, Glenn Knapp, J.R. Hurlburt, Dan Creeden, Tim Votra, J.R. Crouse, James Cornell, Tom McGurrin, Frank Yankowski, Mike Colsten, Greg Tatich, Joel Batzel, Gary Griffin, Jason Andrews, Bob Puckett, Brent Wilcox, Jimmy Johnson, Scott VanGorder, Dennis Dietrich, Chris Ostrowsky, Chris Weaver, Joey Grammes. DNQ – Darrin Schuler, Mike Ward, Justin Andrews, Barry White, Larry Lippincott, Frank Cozze.


COUNTRY TOWN AUTO SPORTSMAN FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  BRAD ALGER, Ladd Yeomans, Jamie Batzel, Brian Puckett, Mike Loney, Nick Rochinski, Brad Grim, Chris Wood, Justin Holland, Joey Colsten, Jeff Leslie, Shaun Walker, Dan Pompey, Mike Nagel Jr., Don Coene, Charlie Hendrickson, Nick Petrilak, Eric Stephens Jr., Aaron Shelton, Mike Austin, Les Gillette, Harry Cook Jr., Jeff Crambo, Butch Klinger.  DNQ – Steve Yankowski, Mike Mammana, Don Caldwell, Mike Walsh, Conrad Fitch, Jim Hughes Sr., Harry Landis, Jerry Craig, Johathon Kumernitsky, Jeff Sterner, Bruce Gold.


COUNTRY TOWN AUTO PURE STOCK FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH: JONATHON CARPENTER, Shane Wolfe, Butch Green, Steve Deinhardt, Joe Rafferty Jr., Charlie Gilbert, Joe Rafferty Sr., Tommy Groover, Nick Austin, Dave Conklin, Chuck Culbertson, Carl Shimer, Mike Codington, Buck Mills, Corey Bond, Ryan Stone, Harry Marvin III, #33, Josh French, Herbert Penny, Roy Swanson, Duane Codington, Toby Lehr, Jim Ortiz.  DNS – Rob Snow, Chris Shimer – DQ – Earl Zimmer


COUNTRY TOWN AUTO IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  SCOTT BENNETT, Gary Roberts, Scott George, K.C. Cole, Tyler Stoddard, George Proctor III, Steve Simpson, Mike Pratschler, Patti Simpson, Joe Cole, Ralph Jennings, Cliff Pierce, Mike Stoddard, Brad Weaver, Jon Rohacevich, Jeremy Shaw, Gary Dence, Dale Caswell, Bradley Dubois.


LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE NUMBER ONE FINISH:  DAN BURNETT, Andy Brigham, Jeff Hayes, Eric Bonney, Cody Decker, Dave Simms, Kaye Brigham, Chris Conrad, Chad Walters, Philip Clapper, Tim Leonard, Dave Bainbridge.  DNS – Bill Titus.

LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE NUMBER TWO FINISH:  GARY KINNE, Tim Price, Jason Bond, Scott Watson, Dennis Keesler, Travis Hayes, Frank Kennedy, Dan Smith, Eric Sigler, Jason Colwell.  DNS – Nick Alexander.


A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN FEATURE NUMBER ONE FINISH:  LAURIE FALLIS, Rebecca Dollnetsch, Louise Wilcox, Katie Keesler.


A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN FEATURE NUMBER TWO FINISH:  LAURIE FALLIS, Lousise Wilcox, Rebecca Dollnetsch, Katie Keesler.