May 17th, 2003


KIRKWOOD, NY…Bobby Puckett became the fourth different 358 Modified feature winner in as many weeks Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. Tracy Gregory was also a first time winner, while Gary Dence and Charlie Gilbert made repeat trips to victory lane. Jeff Richardson won the Northeast Vintage feature go.

With 33 cars on hand, just making the Modified feature was no easy task. Dave Locke and Bob Hamm swapped the lead in the early portion of the Modified feature before Hamm took control. Quickly moving through the pack was 17 year old Dan Vauter from his seventh starting spot. Vauter vaulted into the lead on lap 13 and appeared to be on his way to his first career 358 Modified feature win.

As Vauter opened a commanding lead, Bobby Puckett was on the move from his eighth starting position. Puckett moved into third on lap 15 and went to work on Hamm for second.

Vauter’s quest for his first win would end in heartbreak as the lapped car of Tom Gervasi lost the handle in front of him on lap 17 collecting Vauter in the process. That put Hamm back in front but Puckett was close behind. Pucket would make the winning pass on lap 20 and never look back enroute to his first Five Mile Point win in several years.

Hamm was a solid second ahead of J.R. Crouse, Dana Wagner and Glenn Knapp, who came from the B-Main. Sixth through tenth went to Locke, Brian Malcolm, Vauter, who charged from the back, R.C. Faigle and Dave Calaman.

Pat Nolan charged in front at the start of the Street Stock feature and would hold the top spot until Tracy Gregory took over on lap seven. Brett Spoor and Jerry Tonti were moving through the field trying to track down the high flying Gregory.

Spoor moved into second with four laps to go with Tonti following him into third. Gregory remained in command and would score his first win of the season. Tonti slipped past Spoor with two laps to go to take second. Spoor was third ahead of Brian MacRabie and Rob Harder. Sixth through tenth went to Nolan, Jason Schlafer, Dan Podwika, James Cornell and Randy Tyler.

Gary Dence picked up where he left off the previous week in the UMP Modified feature. Kevin Cole lost the lead to Joe Price on lap four with Dence moving into second on lap five. Dence hounded Price for the next five laps before taking the lead coming out of turn four.

Dence then held off a hard charging Joe Cole and Price. Cole would look to the inside of Dence in turn one on the final lap but Dence shut the door and went onto his second straight win. Cole was a solid second ahead Joel Batzel, Price and Kevin Cole. Positions six through ten went to Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Ken Taylor, Jeff Cleveland, Rob Loucks and Mike Stolarcyk, III.

Like Dence, Charlie Gilbert became the first repeat winner in the Pure Stock ranks. Corey Bond was the early leader before Jim Ortiz took over on lap six. Ortiz would relinquish the lead to Shane Wolf on lap 12.

Gilbert was on the move and became the races fourth different leader. Gilbert would score his second win of the year ahead of Wolf, Bond, Mahlon Shoemaker and Toby Sparks. Sixth through tenth went to Mike Lartz, Brett Barrett, Bryan Lindsey, Harry Cook, Jr. and Jerry Whitmarsh.

The Northeast Vintage Modifieds made their first Five Mile Point apperance on Saturday with Jeff Richardson taking the win. Phil Claussen, Art Parker, Tim Toombs and Mike Kehr followed him.

This Saturday see another exciting show of 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, UMP Modifieds and Pure Stocks. Gates open at 4:00p.m. And race time is 6:15 p.m. Five Mile Point Speedway is located at the intersection of routes 17 and 81 in Kirkwood, New York. For further information please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto our website at

COUNTER POINTS…A season high 33 Modifieds were on hand which brought out the first B-Main of the season…The B&D Exhaust Pure Stock Challenge was not claimed making this weeks bonus $100 if a driver can win his heat and the feature.

BOBBY PUCKETT, Bob Hamm, J.R. Crouse, Dana Wagner, Glenn Knapp, Dave Locke, Brian Malcolm, Dan Vauter, R.C. Faigle, Dave Calaman, Jim Potts, Dave Doig, Butch Klinger, Dan Hineline, Brett Tonkin, Dick Sundgren, Don Hart, Jr., Ralph Mele, Dave Rumsey, Mike Decker, Jim Crawn, Rich Keehle, Tom Gervasi, Mitch Gibbs.

GLENN KNAPP, Dave Doig, Mike Decker, Brett Tonkin, Dan Morden, Ray Menard, Matt Smith, Garth Tonkin, Jr., Jay Straight, Ed Harris, Jim Corcoran, Brian Corcoran.

TRACY GREGORY, Jerry Tonti, Brett Spoor, Brian MacRabie, Rob Harder, Pat Nolan, Jason Schlafer, Dan Podwika, James Cornell, Randy Tyler, Paul Rooney, Fred Christ, Byron Pitcher, Todd Sutliff.

GARY DENCE, Joe Cole, Joel Batzel, Joe Price, Jr., Kevin Cole, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Ken Taylor, Jeff Cleveland, Rob Loucks, Mike Stolarcyk, Scott Bennett, Mike Stoddard.

CHARLIE GILBERT, Shane Wolf, Corey Bond, Mahlon Shoemaker, Toby Sparks, Mike Lartz, Brett Barrett, Bryan Lindsey, Harry Cook, Jr., Jerry Whitmarsh, Dee Ramey, Dana Gardner, Randy Rolison, Jim Ortiz, Bob Tyriw, Mark Aldrich, Walt McClenon, Dan Babcock, Brian Mills, Jeremy Shaw, Mark Andrus. DNS: Jason Bond.

JEFF RICHARDSON, Phil Claussen, Art Parker, Tim Toombs, Mike Kehr, David Hoogerheyde, John Hager, Mike Cole.