RE:  ARDC Midget and race results


PHONE:  607-775-5555




KIRKWOOD, NY…J.R. Crouse recorded the popular victory in the 30 lap Modified feature at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday night.  For Crouse, it was his first win at the speedway in over five seasons.  Shaun Walker was the Sportsman victor with Jonathon Carpenter scoring his second straight Sportsman feature win.  Andy Martin was the ARDC Midget feature winner.  Other winners included:  Brad Weaver (IMCA Modifieds), Cody Decker (Lightning Cats feature 1) and Dan Burnett (Lightning Cats feature 2).


Modifieds:    Crouse was awarded the win in the Modified feature after apparent winner Mike Colsten was penalized two positions for rough driving after the event (the speedway has a policy that rough driving penalties are assessed under the next yellow flag – no yellows occurred prior to the checkers).  Chris Ostrowsky took the lead on lap 6 from Barry White and held the lead until lap 27 when Colsten moved past.  Crouse took the runner-up position on lap 28 and that move proved to be the pass for the victory.  Crouse started seventh in the twenty-four car field.


Sportsman:  Shaun Walker took the lead on lap 9 from Brad Grim and went on for his first victory of the season.  Walker started the race from the fifth position.


ARDC Midgets:  Two time defending ARDC Midget Champion Andy Miller took the lead on lap 4 of the 25 lap feature event and held off a two car challenge from Frank Polimeda and Billy Pauch, Jr.  It was the first time the midgets had competed at the speedway in 25 years.  For Miller it was his first ARDC victory of the season.  It was the fifth race of their 2008 tour.


IMCA Modifieds:  Brad Weaver started on the pole in the 20 lap feature event.  He had to work hard for the victory though as he lost the lead on lap two to Jon Rohacevich.  Rohacevich had mechanical woes on lap 11 and Weaver took over the lead.   Weaver would go on to lead the remainder of the way for his first win of the season.  His father – Brian Weaver is the current Modified point leader at the speedway.


Pure Stocks:   Jonathon Carpenter won for the second consecutive week.  The two wins are his career totals as well at Five Mile Point Speedway.  Carpenter started in eighth position and took the lead on lap nine.  He would go on to hold off a strong challenge from both Harry Marvin, III and Doug Stack.  A bounty will be placed on Carpenter if he wins again this Saturday night.


Lightning Cats:  Two feature events were held again for the division due to the large car count in the class on Saturday night.  Feature number one was won by Cody Decker.  It was Decker’s second career victory.  Feature number two was won by Dan Burnett for the second consecutive time.  A bounty will be placed on Burnett if he wins again this Saturday night.


Upcoming:  A special open practice will be held the Wednesday at the speedway between 6 and 8 p.m. for the new Kiddie Cat division.  The division will feature two age groups for youngsters (ages 8,9,10 – 11, 12, 13).  This practice session will allow one more opportunity for the youngsters to get experience prior to their first race this Saturday, May 31st.


This Saturday is Youth Night at the speedway.  All kids 17 years old and younger will be admitted in to the grandstand free of charge.  Race time is 6 p.m.



MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  J.R. CROUSE, Chris Ostrowsky, Mike Colsten, Brian Weaver, Barry White, James Cornell, Joey Grammes, Tom McGurrin, Carl Nagel, Dan Pompey, Frank Yankowski, Tim Votra, Chris Weaver, Greg Tatich, Justin Andrews, Jason Andrews, Dennis Dietrich, Darrin Schuler, Ron Mawson Jr., Bob Puckett, Joel Batzel, Brian Malcolm, J.R. Hurlburt, Gary Griffin.  DNQ – Glenn Knapp, Dave Jenkins, Brent Wilcox, Steve Yankowski Jr., Bernie Kelly.


SPORTSMAN FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH: SHAUN WALKER, Brad Grim, Brian Puckett, Mike Loney, Ladd Yeomans, Nick Rochinski, Justin Holland, Joey Colsten, Les Gillette, Chris Wood, Jamie Batzel, Mike Austin, Butch Klinger, Eric Stephens, Harry Cook Jr., Steve Yankowski Jr., John Kumernitsky, Aaron Shelton, Chad Hendrickson, Sr. Jim Hughes, Don Caldwell, Mike Nagel Jr.


PURE STOCK FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  JON CARPENTER, Harry Marvin III, Doug Stack, Earl Zimmer, Joe Rafferty, Shane Wolf, Dave Conklin, Joe Rafferty Jr., Mike Codington, Charlie Gilbert, Cory Bond, Carl Shimer, Duane Codington, Craig Hawley, Toby Lehr, Nick Austin, Billy Kinner, Rob Snow, Herbert Penny.  DNS Rick Seeley, Dave Bellis.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  BRAD WEAVER, Jeremy Shaw, Gary Roberts, Steve Simpson, Joe Cole, Ralph Jennings, Cliff Pierce, Ricky Hunsinger, K.C. Cole, Patti Simpson, George Proctor III, Scott George, Steve Cole, John Rohacevich, Mike Partchler, Dennis Copp.


LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE 1 OFFICIAL FINISH:  CODY DECKER, Bruce Rick, Matt Hicks, Tim Price, Willie Hollenbeck, Dan Smith, Dave Simms, Don Doster Jr., Bill Titus, Rob Slezek, Travis Hayes, Jason Colwell.  DNS Eric Sigler.


LIGHTNING CAT FEATURE 2 OFFICIAL FINISH:  DAN BURNETT, Joe Vaughan, Jason Bond, Andy Brigham, Gary Kinne, Laurie Fallis, Kaye Brigham, Dennis Keesler, Jerry Dashay, Frank Kennedy, Jeff Hayes, Scott Watson.  DNS Phil Clapper.


ARDC MIDGET FEATURE OFFICIAL FINISH:  ANDY MARTIN, Frank Polimeda, Billy Pauch Jr., Bruce Buckwalter Jr., A.J. Ernesto, Eric Heydenreich, P.J. Gargiulo, Zach Martini, Steve Craig, Nick Wean, Brett Arndt, Chris Zrinski, Jimmy Commock, Brett Conkling, Scott Zipp, Carey Becker, Randy Monroe Jr., Drew Heistand, Jim Jackson, Steve Lenig, P.J. Pavlick, Chris Rupp, Dave Shirk, Stephanie Stevens, Tracy Readinger.