RE:  May 31, 2008 race results


PHONE:  607-775-5555




KIRKWOOD, NYDespite widespread showers Five Mile Point Speedway was able to complete all of the Saturday night racing program.  Gary Griffin recorded his first Modified victory of the season on a busy night of racing at the quarter mile oval.


Justin Andrews emerged the early race leader in the 30 lap Modified main.  Andrews jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green from his outside front row starting spot.  The first ten circuits would go caution free as Andrews opened up a lead over fourth place starter Gary Griffin.  The caution came out on the tenth circuit as Bobby Puckett slowed on the backstretch.  Both Mike Colsten and Chris Ostrowsky pitted during the yellow and returned quickly without losing any laps.


On the restart Andrews continued to lead as Griffin remained within striking distance and Tom McGurrin battled with Glenn Knapp for third.  McGurrin worked in to third place on lap 19 as a fantastic battle for the lead would ensue.  The caution would fly for the final time on lap 22 as Greg Tatich slowed in turn two.  On the restart Andrews maintained his middle groove as Griffin swung to the outside and McGurrin darted to the inside.  The three wide battle for the lead was a thriller as Andrews was able maintain his lead. With only five laps remaining McGurrin settled in to third place and waited for any error by the leaders.  Griffin continued his outside pressure and on lap 28 it would finally pay off.  Griffin swung around Andrews out of turn four for the lead but Andrews battled back for the lead in turn two.  On the final lap Griffin had enough to pull ahead and win by a car length over Andrews.  McGurrin finished third followed by Glenn Knapp and Frank Yankowski.


Brian Puckett took the lead from Justin Holland on lap 17 and went on to lead the final three circuits for his first win of 2008.  Puckett started in ninth place and Holland started in seventh at the start of the 20 lapper.  Charlie Hendrickson, Jr. ran a terrific race for his best FMP finish at third with Joey Colsten and Les Gillette completing the top five.


Gary Roberts took the lead on lap 10 of the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature event and held on for his second victory of the season.  Roberts started in tenth place.  Jeremy Shaw finished in second followed by last week’s winner Brad Weaver, KC Cole and rookie Steve Simpson.


Charlie Gilbert had the rare opportunity of starting on the front row for the 20 lap Pure Stock feature event.  Despite taking the early lead Gilbert faded back to third place during the mid-way point of the event.  Harry Marvin, III held the point until lap 17 when Gilbert re-established himself as the race leader.  Gilbert would hang on the final circuits for his first win of the season.   Marvin, Earl Zimmer, Shane Wolf and Jonathon Carpenter completed the top five.


A busy schedule of racing saw held over feature events for the Lightning Cats along with regular programs.  The “A League of Their Own” and the new Kiddie Cat class also were on the card. 


Counter points…Despite a forecast for heavy rain only a light drizzle fell over the speedway late in the afternoon…Many local areas were hit heavily with rain…The Modified feature saw twenty-two of the original twenty-four starters on the speedway at the finish…The race took less than fourteen minutes to complete…Todd Heeman will go in the record books as the first Kiddie Cat winner on the inner loop…The new class is designed for youngsters ages 8-10 and 11-13…Tucker Harpell was the “Best of Class” winner in the 8-10 year old age group…



MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  GARY GRIFFIN, Justin Andrews, Tom McGurrin, Glenn Knapp, Frank Yankowski, Brent Wilcox, Carl Nagel, Kevin Bates, Brian Weaver, Tim Votra, Barry White, James Cornell, J.R. Crouse, Jason Andrews, J.R. Hurlburt, Dan Pompey, Chris Ostrowsky, Mike Colsten, Darrin Schuler, Greg Tatich, Josh Purcell, Dennis Dietrich, Brian Malcolm, Bobby Puckett.


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  BRIAN PUCKETT, Justin Holland, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Joey Colsten, Les Gillette, Shaun Walker, Brad Grim, Jamie Batzel, Mike Nagel Jr., Chris Wood, Mike Austin, Bruce Gould, Harry Cook Jr., Ladd Yeomans, Eric Stephens Jr., Don Caldwell, Butch Klinger, Aaron Shelton.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  GARY ROBERTS, Jeremy Shaw, Brad Weaver, KC Cole, Steve Simpson, Tyler Stoddard, Joe Cole, Patti Simpson, Mike Stoddard, Gary Dence, Scott Thayer, Mike Partcshler, Jon Rohacevich, Ralph Jennings, George Proctor III, Scott George.


PURE STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  CHARLIE GILBERT, Harry Marvin III, Earl Zimmer, Shane Wolf, Jonathon Carpenter, Nick Austin, Doug Stack, Dave Conklin, Chuck Culbertson, Craig Hawley, Joe Rafferty Jr., Duane Codington, Mike Codington, Joe Rafferty Sr., Penny Herbert, Corey Bond, Rob Snow.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE 1 FINISH:  CODY DECKER, Gary Kinne, Jason Colwell, Tim Price, Ken Washburn, Don Doster Jr., Rob Slezek, Dan Smith, Josh Wilder, Dennis Keesler, Dan Burnett, Scott Watson.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE 2 FINISH:  DAN WOOD, Jeff Hayes, Joe Vaughan, Dave Simms, Bill Titus, Kay Brigham, John Welch, Jerry Dashau, Andy Brigham, Frank Kennedy, Travis Hayes, Matt Hicks.


A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  CASEY VAUGHAN, Kaye Brigham, Bethany Watson, Katey Keesler, Laurie Vinsevich.


KIDDIE CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  SCOTT HEEMAN, Tanner Harpell, Brian Batzel, Tucker Harpell, Todd Titus.

* Tucker Harpell won “Best of Class” for 8-10 year olds.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FINISH – FEATURE 1 HELD OVER FROM 5/10/08:  DAN BURNETT, Gary Kinne, Travis Hayes, Don Doster Jr., Tim Price, Matt Hicks, Dave Simms, Frank Kennedy.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FINISH – FEATURE 2 HELD OVER FROM 5/10/08:  ANDY BRIGHAM, Jason Bond, Scott Watson, Jeff Hayes, Kaye Brigham, Jerry Dashau, Dennis Keesler, Dan Smith, Jason Colwell.