RE:  June 7, 2008 race results


PHONE:  607-775-5555




KIRKWOOD, NYJ.R Hurlburt recorded his first Modified feature win at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday night.  In the process he became the fifth different Modified feature winner in six races this season at the competitive quarter mile oval.  Hurlburt led wire to wire in the 30 lap main event.


Brent Wilcox and Hurlburt led the twenty-five car starting field down for the green flag in the 30 lap Modified feature event.  Hurlburt immediately made his way in to the lead when racing got underway.  Wilcox ran in second place during the first half of the race but all eyes were on J.R. Crouse as he began to advance from his eleventh place starting position.  The first caution of the event would fly on lap 17 which saw Hurlburt early advantage wiped out.  Wilcox was still running in the second position at this juncture with James Cornell, Crouse and Tom McGurrin in the top five positions. 


When racing resumed Hurlburt continued his fast pace out front as Wilcox, Cornell and Crouse had a tremendous race for positions second through fourth.  On lap 25 Crouse moved in to second place and quickly tracked down Hurlburt for the race lead.  Crouse looked to have the momentum as he attempted to make the move for the lead only to see the caution fly on lap 27.  Hurlburt now knew he had company for the remaining three laps as the two battled to the finish.  At the stripe Hurlburt was able to hold off Crouse for a slim advantage and his first FMP victory.  Crouse wound up in second place with Wilcox, Cornell and McGurrin rounding out the top five.  Positions six through ten were filled by Frank Yankowski, Carl Nagel, Joey Grammes, Brian Weaver and Scott Brady.


Shaun Walker nabbed his second Sportsman victory of the season on Saturday night.  Walker started in the tenth position and avoided a multi car tangle at the start of the race to make his way to the front.  Aaron Shelton was the early race leader with Chris Wood taking the point on lap three.  It looked as if Wood could be headed to his first FMP victory as well as he continued to lead until the late stages.  On lap 19 Walker worked around Wood and would manage to hang on the final two circuits.  Wood finished second with Justin Holland, Brad Grim and Brian Puckett completing the top five.


Mike Stoddard took the lead from Jeremy Shaw on lap 17 of the IMCA Modified feature go and went on for his first win of the season.  Gary Dence led the early laps only to see Shaw take over on lap 7.  Two cautions slowed the action in what turned out to be a fantastic feature event.  Seventeen starters took the green.  Following Stoddard across the line were Gary Roberts, Cliff Pierce, Gary Dence and KC Cole.


Doug Stack returned to Pure Stock competition two weeks ago and it didn’t take him long to find his way to victory lane.  Stack passed Mike Codington on the 12th lap to notch his first victory of 2008.  Codington wound up second followed by Shane Wolf, Harry Marvin III and Tyler Yeagle.


Another busy night of action saw the Figure 8 division back in competition on Saturday night.  Mark Andrus made it two for two in 2008 by recording the victory.  Cody Decker was the winner in the first Lightning Cat main event for the third straight week.  Decker will now have a bounty placed on him this Saturday night.  Dave Simms recorded his first ever victory in the Lightning Cat night cap on Saturday.  Bryan Batzel was another first time winner in the Kiddie Cat class.


MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  J.R. HURLBURT, J.R. Crouse, Brent Wilcox, James Cornell, Tom McGurrin, Frank Yankowski, Carl Nagel, Joey Grammes, Brian Weaver, Scott Brady, Darin Schuler, Justin Andrews, Barry White, Josh Purcell, Chris Ostrowsky, Tim Votra, Larry Lippencott, Mike Colsten, Glenn Knapp, Joel Batzel, Greg Tatich, Brian Malcolm, Ken Titus, Bernie Kelly, Gary Griffin.


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  SHAUN WALKER, Chris Wood, Ladd Yeomans, Brad Grim, Brian Puckett, Les Gillette, Aaron Shelton, Justin Holland, Joey Colsten, Mike Austin, Harry Cook Jr., Eric Stephens Jr., Bruce Gould, Charlie Hendickson Jr., Don Caldwell, Butch Klinger, Nick Rochinski, Jamie Batzel, Jeff Sterner, Billy Spoonhower, Carl Heater.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  MIKE STODDARD, Gary Roberts, Cliff Pierce, Gary Dence, K.C. Cole, Tyler Stoddard, Steve Simpson, Patti Simpson, Joe Cole, Ralph Jennings, Scott George, Dennis Copp, Jeremy Shaw, George Proctor III, Ricky Hunsinger, Jon Rohacevich, Steve Cole, Mike Partschler.


PURE STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  DOUG STACK, Mike Codington, Shane Wolf, Harry Marvin III, Tyler Yeagle, Charlie Gilbert, Duane Codington, Nick Austin, Dave Conklin Jr., Toby Lehr, Jonathon Carpenter, Rob Snow, Herbert Penny, Cory Bond, Chuck Culbertson, Joe Rafferty Jr., Ray Lindquist.


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE 1 FINISH:  CODY DECKER, Gary Kinne, Jeff Hayes, Scott Watson, Don Doster Jr., Dave Bainbridge, Jerry Dashau, Frank Kennedy, Jonathon Siedlecky, Dan Burnett, Dan Smith.            


LIGHTNING CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE 2 FINISH:  DAVE Q. SIMMS, Andy Brigham, Tim Price, Dennis Keesler, Joe Vaughan, Andy Colwell, Kaye Brigham, Rob Slezek Jr., Bill Titus, Josh Welch.


FIGURE 8 OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  MARK ANDRUS, Mark Cardew, Dave Cronk, Rob Warner.  DNS Joe Warner.


KIDDIE CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  BRYAN BATZEL, Kyle Pierce, Scott Heeman, Tanner Harpell, Todd Titus, Tucker Harpell.  

* Tucker Harpell won “Best of Class” for 8-10 year olds.