July 19th, 2003


KIRKWOOD, NY…Don Hart, Jr. logged his first 358 Modified feature win of the season on Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. James Cornell, Gary Dence, Shane Wolf, Mike McLaughlin, Pat Sonnenberg and Jeff Ackerman were also victorious at the quarter mile clay oval.

Dave Rumsey raced into the lead at the drop of the green in the 358 Modified feature. Rumsey set a torrid pace and opened a commanding lead over the field. Hart was rocketing his way through the pack from his eighth starting spot. The first 15 laps went caution free and Hart worked his way into second.

Hart had hounded Rumsey for several laps before taking charge with an outside pass at the halfway point of the 30 lapper. Kirk Horton, in his first start of the season came from 12th to challenge for the top five with Dick Sundgren, Bobby Puckett, Glenn Knapp and last weeks winner Jim Crawn.

Several cars tangled with three laps to go involving Sundgren, Crawn and Rich Keehle. When the green flew Hart was unchallenged and cruised to the impressive win over Rumsey, Puckett, Horton and Knapp. Sixth through tenth went to Dan Vauter, J.R. Crouse, Butch Klinger, Dennis Dietrich and Dave Doig.

Jerry Tonti led the caution free Street Stock feature for the first 14 laps before losing the top spot to Rob Harder. Harder would only hold the advantage for one lap before James Cornell did it again. Cornell took the lead on lap 16 and captured his eighth win in nine races.

Harder wound up second ahead of Brett Spoor, Tonti and Jason Schlafer. Positions six through ten went to Jason Bartsch, Ken Sparks, Jr., Brian MacRabie, Fred Christ and Ken Taugher.

The best finish of the night came in the UMP Modified feature. Joe Price, Jr. took the lead from Ralph Shoemaker, Jr. on lap three and pulled away from the pack. Unfortunately for Price the first caution of the night was for him as he expired the power plant on his car.

Shoemaker was the new leader with Gary Dence and Jeff Cleveland right on his heels. When Dence would challenge Shoemaker for the lead, Cleveland would pull along Dence to make it a three car race.

Shoemaker, looking for his first win in the class, held the top spot until coming out of four for the checkers. He drifted too high and slammed the outside retaining wall. Dence and Cleveland went low and the three cars came across the line together with Dence winning by a bumper.

Shoemaker was second ahead of Cleveland, Mike Stoddard and Joe Cole. Sixth through tenth went to Kevin Cole, Brad Shaffer, Joel Batzel, Joe Novak and Price.

The Pure Stock feature was marred by a huge pileup on the first lap. When things got sorted out Shane Wolf was the leader and held the top spot to the end. He would collect the $50 B&D Exhaust Bonus for winning the heat and feature.

Harry Marvin III was second ahead of Charlie Gilbert, Bryan Lindsey and Jeremy Shaw. Sixth through tenth went to Jerry Whitmarsh, Mahlon Shoemaker, Mark Andrus, Brian Garvey and Joe Cisney.

The Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club made their first appearance at the Point since 1988. Winners were Mike McLaughlin (70’s), Pat Sonnenberg (60’s) and Jeff Ackerman (50’s).

This Saturday is Fast Vinyl Graphics Night. The Slingshots will be making their first ever appearance at the Point joining the full show of 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, UMP Modifieds and Pure Stocks. Rich Tobias will have his USAC Sprint Car on hand to run some hot laps. The car is a tribute to his father, the late Toby Tobias. There will also be a Meet and Greet session for the fans with the Modifieds.

Gates open at 4:00 p.m., hot laps are at 5:00 p.m. and race time is 6:15 p.m. Five Mile Point Speedway is located at the intersection of routes 17 and 81 in Kirkwood, New York. For further information please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto

COUNTER POINTS…Jason Schlafer Racing gave away bicycles to a lucky boy and girl…The B&D Exhaust Pure Stock bonus starts over at $50 this week…Bob Hamm qualified for the feature but was unable to get his car to start and was forced to scratch…Mike Lartz flipped his Pure Stock in the feature but was not injured.

DON HART, JR., Dave Rumsey, Bobby Puckett, Kirk Horton, Glenn Knapp, Dan Vauter, J.R. Crouse, Butch Klinger, Dennis Dietrich, Dave Doig, Dick Sundgren, Rich Keehle, Dan Hineline, Jim Crawn, Glen Wilcox, Jim Corcoran, Dan Morden, Brian Malcolm, Dana Wagner, Dave Calaman, Dave Locke, Mike Decker, Duane Hiller. DNS: Bob Hamm. DNQ: Matt Smith, Brian Corcoran, Tony Amato, Mike Frost.

JAMES CORNELL, Rob Harder, Brett Spoor, Jerry Tonti, Jason Schlafer, Jason Bartsch, Ken Sparks, Brian MacRabie, Fred Christ, Ken Taugher, Bob Teribury, Frank Mower, Dan Pompey.

GARY DENCE, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Jeff Cleveland, Mike Stoddard, Joe Cole, Kevin Cole, Brad Shaffer, Joel Batzel, Joe Novak, Joe Price, Jr.

SHANE WOLF, Harry Marvin III, Charlie Gilbert, Bryan Lindsey, Jeremy Shaw, Jerry Whitmarsh, Mahlon Shoemaker, Mark Andrus, Brian Garvey, Joe Cisney, Jim Ortiz, Ted Baker, Mike Lartz, Toby Sparks, Dee Ramey, Randy Rolison, Corey Bond, Mark Aldrich, Dan Callen, Brian Mills, Roger Salai, John Terrell.