Special Event Results 7/30


KIRKWOOD, NY…Mitch Gibbs continued his dominance of the quarter mile by winning the 52nd Anniversary Special on Tuesday at Five Mile Point Speedway. James Cornell raced to the win in the STAR Series Street Stock special on Time Warner Cable Night.

Glenn Knapp and Harry Marvin brought the 358 Modified field to the initial green flag for the 52 lap feature with Marvin holding the early lead. The race was slowed by several early cautions in the first nine laps of the race. They then clicked off 28 green flag laps.

Knapp took the lead from Marvin on lap seven and held the top spot until the high flying Jeff Rudalavage dashed into the lead on lap 13 from his 12th starting position. Knapp and Marvin were now being challenged by Mike Clapperton and Alan Johnson as Rudalavage checked out on the field.

Point leader and eight time winner Mitch Gibbs didn’t crack the top five until lap 24 as he moved ahead of Johnson. Gibbs then got caught up behind a lapped car and fell back to sixth as Rudalavage continued to dominate the race. Clapperton took over second from Knapp on lap 33 while Gibbs was making his patented charge to the front in the late stages of the race. He had moved past Johnson for fourth on lap 29. He then took third from Knapp on lap 36 and got the break he needed when the caution flew on lap 37

Gibbs then raced past Clapperton for second on lap 38 and then needed just two laps to blast past Rudalavage for the lead. Clapperton raced past Rudalavage for second on lap 44 and tried to close the gap on Gibbs. Gibbs was up to the challenge and raced to the $3,000 victory and a guaranteed starting spot in the Victoria 200 All Star Race at Fulton in October. Clapperton was a strong second ahead of Rudalavage, Knapp and Johnson. Marvin, J.R. Hurlburt, Dana Wagner, Kirk Horton and Butch Klinger rounded out the top ten.

The 30 lap STAR Series Street Stock feature was also a Race of Champions Qualifier. Matt Roberts darted into the early lead ahead of Randy Metcalf. Two cautions flew on lap two. When racing resumed James Cornell was working his way through the pack.

Cornell, the winner of the first two STAR Series races at Skyline, moved into second on lap six. The third and final caution of the race flew on lap 10. On the restart Cornell charged into the lead as the race went the final 20 laps without incident.

Gary Roberts entered the picture at the midway point and moved in to challenge his son Matt for second. Gary was able to move past Matt with six laps to go but was unable to catch the high flying Cornell who cruised to his third straight STAR Series win and the Race of Champions starting spot.

Gary Roberts was second ahead of Matt Roberts, Wade Decker and P.J. Goodwin. Sixth through tenth went to Metcalf, John Glezen, Neal Paladino, Fred Christ and Don Russell.

The next big midweek show is slated for Wednesday, August 14th when French’s and Interstate Auto Parts Presents the Second Annual Southern Tier Sprint Car Showdown. The $2,000 to win show for 360 Sprint Cars drew some of the best drivers in the northeast last year and is certain to do the same this year.

Gates will open on the 14th at 5:00 p.m. and race time is 7:30 p.m. Five Mile Point Speedway is located at the intersection of routes 17 and 81 in Kirkwood, New York, just seven miles north of the Pennsylvania border near Binghamton. For further information, please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto our website at www.fivemilepointspeedway.net.

COUNTER POINTS…Gibbs is closing in on Chuck Akulis’ single season win record of 14 set in 1977. Gibbs has won nine of 13 features with seven races to go…After the hard charge in the 52 lap race, Gibbs still had the nubs on his right rear tire as tire wear continues to be a non issue at the Point…Cornell was competing at the Point for the first time, but his father Rich was a former Late Model competitor at the track in the 1970’s and 80’s…Cornell took home $750 for his efforts…Brian Weaver was DQ’d for an illegal carburetor after winning his heat. After changing to the right carburetor he went from last to win the consi but was a non factor in the feature…In four appearances at the Point in 2002, Clapperton has three seconds and a fifth place finish…Defending race winner Steve Hulsizer finished 11th.

MITCH GIBBS, Mike Clapperton, Jeff Rudalavage, Glenn Knapp, Alan Johnson, Harry Marvin, J.R. Hurlburt, Dana Wagner, Kirk Horton, Butch Klinger, Steve Hulsizer, Jimmy Chester, Troy Wisenfluh, R.C. Faigle, Ed White, Bob Hamm, Buddy Altamose, Brett Tonkin, George Kostelansky, Brian Weaver, Brian Malcomb, Rich Keehle, Mike Frost, Don Hart, Jr.

JAMES CORNELL, Gary Roberts, Matt Roberts, Wade Decker, P.J. Goodwin, Randy Metcalf, John Glezen, Neal Paladino, Fred Christ, Don Russell, Frank Chapman, Tracy Gregory, Randy Percival, Bryan Lindsey, Rick Brown, Greg McKernan, Jason Rhodes, Randy Rolison, Mike Decker, Dick Stark, Ed McKernan, Darren Stout, Mike Mills.