Race Results 8/03


KIRKWOOD, NY…Mitch Gibbs continued his winning ways on Saturday by taking his fourth straight and tenth overall 358 Modified feature win at Five Mile Point Speedway. Jerry Tonti, Bob Chapman, Mahlon Shoemaker and Brian Garvey also captured wins on Lowe’s Home Improvement Warehouse Night.

Joe Biasi powered to the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Modified feature. Fourth starting Bobby Puckett made his presence felt early as he challenged Biasi for the lead on lap four. Rich Keehle worked his way to the front from seventh, with 12th starting Gibbs in the mix early as well. Puckett took the lead on lap seven but was quickly challenged by Keehle and Gibbs as Biasi dropped back to fifth. Puckett, Keehle and Gibbs put on a racing clinic as they ran three wide in a torrid battle for the lead for nearly five laps. Gibbs slipped past Keehle for second on lap 11 and then needed just one lap to race past Puckett for the lead. Once in front there was no looking back as Gibbs cruised to his 10th feature win of the season. He is now just four short of the single season win record set by Chuck Akulis in 1977, with six races remaining. Butch Klinger put on a tremendous late race charge to take over second with seven laps to go. Klinger was unable to put any pressure on Gibbs and settled for second ahead of Puckett, Biasi and Dave Calaman, who came back from an early race spin to crack the top five. Sixth through tenth went to Keehle, Gary Gallerie, Glenn Knapp, Brian Malcomb and Harry Marvin, Jr.

Brian MacRabie held the top spot for the first six laps of the Street Stock feature before giving way to Jerry Tonti. Brett Spoor took over second and chased Tonti for many laps until the race got a little bizarre in the final four laps. Fourth running Ralph Shoemaker got together with third running Ken Sparks with both drivers being relegated to the rear. With three laps to go runnerup Spoor tangled with Tracy Gregory, forcing them to the back as well. Tonti then finished the job by taking home his second feature win of the season over MacRabie, Bill Saxe, Dan Podwika and Bob Teribury. Sixth through tenth went to Jason Bartsch, Pete Sobol, Jerry Liford, Sparks and Spoor.

Bob Chapman went wire to wire to capture his second Grand American Modified feature win of the season. Chapman was challenged early by Joe Cole and then was hounded by eight time winner Jeff Cleveland over the final eight laps. Chapman hit the right setup and claimed his second win of the season. Cleveland was second ahead of Gil Sharpsteen, Charlie Giblert and Gordy Isham. Rounding out the top ten were Bill Hawkins, Mike Stoddard, Joel Batzel, Kevin Cole and Jeff Warren.

Mahlon Shoemaker went wire to wire to claim his fourth Pure Stock feature win of the season. Darl Ellis made a late charge but came up short to finish second ahead of Walt McClenon, Shane Wolf and Mike Lartz. Positions six through ten went to Randy Percival, Jim Ortiz, Jeremy Shaw, Bob Tyriw and Harry Cook.

Brian Garvey garnered his fourth Figure 8 win of the season and padded his point lead in the process. Garvey was chased to the stripe by Stewart Padasso, Guido McGonigle, Bubba Folk and Steve Dechow.

A big week lies ahead with two nights of racing. This Saturday is Pepsi-Cola Night featuring a full show of 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, Grand American Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Figure 8’s. There will also be One on One Spectator Races. Rac time is 6:30 p.m. Then on Wednesday, August 14th French’s Auto Parts and Interstate Auto Parts Present the second annual Southern Tier Sprint Car Showdown for 360 Sprints. The race will draw some of the best Sprint Car drivers in the northeast. Race time on Wednesday is 7:30 p.m. Five Mile Point Speedway is located at the intersection of routes 17 and 81 in Kirkwood, New York. For further information please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto our website at www.fivemilepointspeedway.net.

COUNTER POINTS…Another strong 32 car Modified field in the pits, necessitating another B-Main…One time feature winner Jim Allen blew his motor in hot laps and was out for the night…The biggest field of cars of the year filled the pit area to capacity joining one of the biggest crowds of the year…Gibbs will be racing teammate R.C. Faigle’s second car in the Southern Tier Sprint Car Showdown on Wednesday. It will be his first time behind the wheel of a Sprinter in competition.

MITCH GIBBS, Butch Klinger, Bobby Puckett, Joe Biasi, Dave Calaman, Rich Keehle, Gary Gallerie, Glenn Knapp, Brian Malcomb, Harry Marvin, Jr., Ed Harris, Tom Rose, Dan Hineline, Dan Vauter, Dave Rumsey, Billy Thornton, R.C. Faigle, Dana Wagner, Bob Hamm, Danny West, Chuck Kennison, Don Hart, Jr., Dave Locke, Dan Morden.

GARY GALLERIE, Bob Hamm, Tom Rose, R.C. Faigle, Ray Menard, Jim Potts, Darren Stout, Tom Gervasi, Brian Bray, Jim Christ, Robin Oltz. DNS: Jim Allen.

JERRY TONTI, Brian MacRabie, Bill Saxe, Dan Podwika, Bob Teribury, Jason Bartsch, Pete Sobol, Jerry Liford, Ken Sparks, Jr., Brett Spoor, Tracy Gregory, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Byron Pitcher, Rick Brown, Guy Park, Joe Damiano, Ken Taugher, Scott Bennett, Art Darling, Jr., Randy Rolison, Fred Velez, Lyle Williams, Fred Christ.

BOB CHAPMAN, Jeff Cleveland, Gil Sharpsteen, Charlie Gilbert, Gordy Isham, Bill Hawkins, Mike Stoddard, Joel Batzel, Kevin Cole, Jeff Warren, Joe Cole, Tom Vasta.

MAHLON SHOEMAKER, Darl Ellis, Walt McClenon, Shane Wolf, Mike Lartz, Randy Percival, Jim Ortiz, Jeremy Shaw, Bob Tyriw, Harry Cook, Jr., Jason Bond, Bryan Lindsey, Harry Marvin, III, Don Donnelly, Jr., Roger Salai, Toby Sparks, Todd Sutliff, Shephard Blodgett, Jerry Whitmarsh, Jack Champion, Craig Hawley, Cory Bond, Chris Lord.

BRIAN GARVEY, Stewart Padasso, Guido McGonigle, Bubba Folk, Steve Dechow, Fran Reed.