Race Results 8/10


KIRKWOOD, NY…Mitch Gibbs is edging closer to the single season win record each week as picked up his 11th win, and fifth in a row, Saturday on Pepsi-Cola Night at Five Mile Point Speedway. Pete Sobol, Jeff Cleveland, Toby Sparks and Steve Dechow also raced to victory lane at the quarter mile oval.

The first half of the 358 Modified feature went caution free with Dana Wagner taking the lead from Dan Hineline on lap six and opening a commanding advantage. Mitch Gibbs, who started 12th, was charging through the field and made it up to fourth when the first caution flew on lap 15. That erased Wagner’s big lead with Hineline second and Jim Potts third. Gibbs moved past teammate Potts and Hineline with one move on lap 16 and set his sights on Wagner. Wagner tried desperately to hold off Gibbs for the lead by running the high groove. Gibbs made his run on lap 21, going so high into turn one that he set off a shower of sparks when his back bumper caught the end of the first turn wall. The move paid off as Gibbs went all the way to the top to take the lead coming out of turn two. Gibbs rolled to his 11th win of the season, and fifth in a row. He is just two wins away from tying Chuck Akulis’ single season record of 13. Wagner was a solid second ahead of Brian Malcomb, who continues to impress with another top five finish. Potts had a great run for fourth as did Rich Keehle, who took home fifth. Sixth through tenth went to Dan Vauter, Glenn Knapp, Bobby Puckett, Harry Marvin, Jr. and Dave Locke.

Pete Sobol went wire to wire to capture his first career Five Mile Point Speedway Street Stock feature win. Sobol was in front of a torrid three car battle for the lead ahead of Ken Sparks and Brett Spoor. Spoor got past Sparks with six laps to go and then pressured Sobol the rest of the way. On the white flag lap Spoor got underneath Sobol but Sobol out powered him down the straightaway to claim his first win. Spoor was second ahead of Sparks, Dan Podwika and Tracy Gregory. Positions six through ten went to Byron Pitcher, Jerry Liford, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Fred Christ and Bob Teribury.

Jeff Cleveland took the lead from Joel Batzel on lap seven of the Grand American Modified feature and cruised to his eighth win of the season. Cleveland missed two weeks when he got married early in the season and has now climbed back into the point battle. Mike Stoddard overcame two early spins to finish second. Charlie Gilbert, Batzel and Joe Cole rounded out the top five.

Toby Sparks went wire to wire to garner his first Five Mile Point Pure Stock feature win. Sparks rode the cushion to victory over Roger Salai, Jerry Whitmarsh, Mahlon Shoemaker and Mike Lartz. Positions six through ten went to Shane Wolf, Harry Marvin III, Cory Bond, Randy Percival and Harry Cook, Jr.

Steve Dechow rebuilt his car after a "Danger Zone" crash last week and came back to win his seventh Figure 8 feature of the season. Fran Reed, who was involved in the same crash the week before and rebuilt his car, finished a very close second ahead of Guido McGonigle, Brian Garvey and Bubba Folk.

There will be bicycle and tricycle races this Saturday for kids age 12 and under. Bring your bike and a helmet to participate. The 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Grand American Modifieds and Figure 8’s will all be in competition. Race time is 6:30 p.m.

COUNTER POINTS…Toby Sparks picked up a $100 bonus from B&D Exhaust for winning the Pure Stock feature on Diamond Back tires…The Walt McClenon Racing Team gave away bicycles to a lucky boy and girl with Eddie Johnson and Keenan Hall winning them…Jamie Feik won the girls bike but generously opted to draw another name because she already had a bike…Akulis’ single season win record is 13, not 14 as was previously announced. His 14 Track Championships are also a record, hence the confusion…Track Championship point battles are extremely close in all divisions, outside of the Modifieds, which are close from second on back…Pure Stock driver Jerry Whitmarsh handed out toys to kids in the stands.

MITCH GIBBS, Dana Wagner, Brian Malcomb, Jim Potts, Rich Keehle, Dan Vauter, Glenn Knapp, Bobby Puckett, Harry Marvin, Jr., Dave Locke, R.C. Faigle, Don Hart, Butch Klinger, Dave Rumsey, Billy Thornton, Tom Gervasi, Joe Biasi, Mike Frost, Dan Hineline, Tom Rose, Dave Calaman, Ray Menard, Danny West, Darren Stout. DNQ: Dan Morden, Art Bray, Fred Christ.

PETE SOBOL, Brett Spoor, Ken Sparks, Jr., Dan Podwika, Tracy Gregory, Byron Pitcher, Jerry Liford, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Fred Christ, Bob Teribury, Scott Chapman, John Evans, Brian MacRabie, Bill Saxe, Lyle Williams, Jerry Tonti, Pat Nolan, Jason Bartsch. DNS: Tom Herman, Tony Nalaschi.

JEFF CLEVELAND, Mike Stoddard, Charlie Gilbert, Joel Batzel, Joe Cole, Joe Novak, Kevin Cole, Bob Chapman, Bill Hawkins. DNS: Gordy Isham.

TOBY SPARKS, Roger Salai, Jerry Whitmarsh, Mahlon Shoemaker, Mike Lartz, Shane Wolfe, Harry Marvin, III, Cory Bond, Randy Percival, Harry Cook, Jr., Bryan Lindsey, Bob Tyriw, Walt McClenon, Jason Bond, Jeremy Shaw, Jim Ortiz, Jack Champion, Craig Hawley, Darl Ellis.

STEVE DECHOW, Fran Reed, Guido McGonigle, Brian Garvey, Bubba Folk, Stewart Padasso.