Race Results 8/17


KIRKWOOD, NY…Jim Potts kept the Heroux Motorsports Team in victory lane as he raced to his first career 358 Modified feature win on Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. Cory Bond was also a first time winner while Brett Spoor, Mike Stoddard and Brian Garvey were also victorious on the quarter mile oval.

The Heroux Motorsports Team, consisting of Track Champion and 11 time winner Mitch Gibbs, Modified rookie and one time winner R.C. Faigle and Jim Potts, have dominated this season at the Point. Potts started from the outside of row one and quickly jumped into the lead at the drop of the green. Don Hart, Jr., a two time winner in 2002, vaulted into second from fourth on the first lap and tried to keep pace. Gibbs, who clinched the championship by taking the green flag, had motor problems and hopped in teammate Faigle’s car for the feature. His ride was short lived however as he was involved in a lap two jingle and was out for the night. The race was slowed by seven cautions but Potts kept his composure and ran a flawless race in his Genesee Beer sponsored Christian Chassis. Hart was able to stay within five car lengths but was never able to mount a serious challenge. Potts claimed his first career Modified win and the 13th out of 16 races for Heroux Motorsports. Hart was a solid second over Glenn Knapp, Dana Wagner and Harry Marvin, Jr. Rounding out the top ten were Dan Hineline, Brian Malcomb, Chris Ostrowsky, Billy Thornton and Joe Biasi.

Brett Spoor took the lead on lap three when leader Fred Christ dropped out. Ken Sparks moved into second, from his sixth starting spot, on lap three and hounded Spoor throughout the 20 lap race, which saw just two cautions. Spoor took his fourth win of the season with Sparks finishing second ahead of Jerry Tonti, Pat Nolan and Jerry Liford. Sixth through tenth went to Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Dan Podwika, Pete Sobol, Randy Rolison and Jason Bartsch.

Mike Stoddard took the lead from Joe Cole on lap seven of the Grand American Modified feature and went on to capture his fourth win of the season. Cole, in his best run yet, held off eight time winner Jeff Cleveland until two laps to go. Cleveland finally got by but had nothing for Stoddard in the caution free feature. Stoddard took the win over Cleveland, Cole, Kevin Cole and Charlie Gilbert. Sixth through tenth went to Joel Batzel, Bob Chapman, Joe Novak, Bill Hawkins and Gil Sharpsteen.

The most exciting race of the night came in the Pure Stock feature. It was announced at the start of the night that B&D Exhaust was putting up a $100 bonus each night for the balance of the season if a driver can win his heat and feature in the same night. That set the table for a thriller. Rookies Jeremy Shaw and Cory Bond both won their heats and were running one and two throughout the entire 20 lap main event. Shaw led the way with Bond right on his bumper all the way. Bond tried all routes around Shaw and finally made his move to take the lead on lap 17. Shaw stayed right with him as the whole field ran close together in a tremendous battle. All "heck" broke loose on the final lap as Shaw’s great run ended when he lost a wheel in turn two. As the rest of the pack rambled into turn three two cars spun, triggering a multi car skirmish. Bond stayed well ahead of that and recorded his first career feature win and the $100 B&D Exhaust bonus. Mahlon Shoemaker wound up second ahead of Bob Tyriw, Roger Salai and Jerry Whitmarsh. Positions six through ten went to Mike Lartz, Bobby Boynton, Walt McClenon, Harry Marvin III and Paul Harrington.

Brian Garvey took the lead on lap two of the Figure 8 feature and cruised to his fifth win of the season, padding his point lead in the process. Guido McGonigle, Bubba Folk and Steve Dechow followed.

This Saturday is B&D Exhaust Night featuring a full show of 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, Grand American Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Figure 8’s. There will also be ladies races. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. and race time is 6:30 p.m.

COUNTER POINTS…Potts is a former Four Cylinder Stock champion at the Point…Gibbs still needs two wins to tie and three to break Chuck Akulis’ single season win record with four races remaining…The point battles are extremely close in all four divisions outside of the Modifieds where Gibbs has locked up the title, however second on back is very much up for grabs in the Mods…Winners of the kids bicycle races were Tyler Hart, Brett Baker and Cody Curry.

JIM POTTS, Don Hart, Jr., Glenn Knapp, Jr., Dana Wagner, Harry Marvin, Jr., Dan Hineline, Brian Malcomb, Chris Ostrowsky, Billy Thornton, Joe Biasi, Butch Klinger, Dan Vauter, Dave Locke, Dave Calaman, Ray Menard, Ed Harris, Rich Keehle, Mike Clapperton, Danny West, Gary Gallerie, Art Bray, Mitch Gibbs, Bryan Bray, Bobby Puckett. DNQ: R.C. Faigle, Dave Rumsey, John Richards.

BRETT SPOOR, Ken Sparks, Jr., Jerry Tonti, Pat Nolan, Jerry Liford, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Dan Podwika, Pete Sobol, Randy Rolison, Jason Bartsch, Bob Teribury, Fred Christ, Ken Taugher, Byron Pitcher, Tom Herman.

MIKE STODDARD, Jeff Cleveland, Joe Cole, Kevin Cole, Charlie Gilbert, Joel Batzel, Bob Chapman, Joe Novak, Bill Hawkins, Gil Sharpsteen.

CORY BOND, Mahlon Shoemaker, Bob Tyriw, Roger Salai, Jerry Whitmarsh, Mike Lartz, Bobby Boynton, Walt McClenon, Harry Marvin, III, Paul Harrington, Don Donnelly, Jr., Todd Sutliff, Bryan Lindsey, Harry Cook, Jr., Jim Ortiz, Jeremy Shaw, Randy Percival, Jason Bond, Dan Babcock, Gary Druhl, Craig Hawley, Darl Ellis, Brett Rood.

BRIAN GARVEY, Guido McGonigle, Bubba Folk, Steve Dechow.