August 23rd, 2003


KIRKWOOD, NY...Dave Rumsey romped to his first 358 Modified feature win of the season Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. Ralph Shoemaker, Jr. and Jim Ortiz were also first time winners while Rob Harder raced to his second win of the season at the Point.

Dan Hineline was the early race leader in the 358 Modified feature with Rich Keehle close behind. Rumsey, who started sixth quickly vaulted into the top three on lap two and chased the leaders in a great three car battle. Rumsey went from third to first on lap ten with a power move and quickly pulled away. The first caution flew on lap 13 with Rumsey in front of Keehle, Dan Vauter and Dick Sundgren.

Jim Crawn has been very fast in recent weeks but luck hasn’t always been on his side. Crawn came from 10th to third by lap 18. Thirteenth starting Bob Hamm also joined in the hunt by that point. Rumsey clearly had the dominant car as he maintained a comfortable advantage.

Rumsey proved to be the class of the field and he raced to his first win of the season. He became the ninth different winner on the season. Keehle was a solid second ahead of Crawn, Hamm and George Kostelansky, who came from 19th. Sixth through tenth went to Glenn Knapp, Bobby Puckett, Matt Smith, Alan Barker and Kirk Horton.

The Street Stock feature had a scary moment on lap three when a five car wreck brought the ambulance to the aid of Jason Schlafer. Schlafer, complaining of neck pains, was extricated from the car and transported to the hospital. He was later treated and released with a concussion. When racing resumed, Rob Harder bolted into the lead and never looked back as he cruised to his second win of the season. Ken Sparks was a solid second ahead of Ken Taugher, Lyle Williams and Brett Spoor. James Cornell, Bob Teribury, Fred Christ, Jason Bartsch and Randy Tyler rounded out the top ten.

Ralph Shoemaker, Jr. scored his first career open wheel win by capturing the UMP Modified feature. Shoemaker led from wire to wire from his outside pole starting spot. Joe Price, Jr. finished second ahead of Jeff Cleveland, Joe Cole and Joel Batzel. Sixth through tenth went to Mike Stoddard, Mike Stolarcyk III, Brad Shaffer, Gary Dence and Kevin Cole.

The Pure Stocks produced the race of the night as Jim Ortiz and Shane Wolf hooked up in a torrid battle over the final six laps. The two ran side by side each lap before Ortiz launched ahead at the finish to score his first win of the season. Wolf was second ahead of Mike Lartz, Mahlon Shoemaker and Charlie Gilbert. Sixth through tenth went to Walt McClenon, Jeremy Shaw, Ted Baker, Bryan Lindsey and Dee Ramey.

This Saturday the Sprint Cars invade Five Mile Point for Open Wheel Excitement. See the Patriot Sprints go to battle with the KARS Sprinters from Pennsylvania in an all out war. They will join the full show of 358 Modifieds, Street Stocks, UMP Modifieds and Pure Stocks. Race time on Saturday is 6:00 p.m.


Only 35 points separate the top five in Modified points with just two points races remaining. J.R. Crouse, who is the only driver in the top seven without a win, is the leader by three points over Don Hart and Dan Vauter, who are tied for second. Jim Crawn and Glenn Knapp round out the top five...It was Firemans Appreciation Night at the Point with Firemen and Trucks from various departments on hand...The UMP Mods have had eight different winners.

DAVE RUMSEY, Rich Keehle, Jim Crawn, Bob Hamm, George Kostelansky, Glenn Knapp, Bobby Puckett, Matt Smith, Alan Barker, Kirk Horton, Dick Sundgren, Dan Hineline, Dan Vauter, Butch Klinger, Jim Corcoran, Scott Frack, Dan Morden, Billy Thornton, Don Hart, Jr., J.R. Crouse, Alan Rudalavage, Rodney Hart, Dana Wagner. DNS: Brian Corcoran. DNQ: Ray Menard, Brian Bray, Duane Hiller.

ROB HARDER, Ken Sparks, Jr., Ken Taugher, Lyle Williams, Brett Spoor, James Cornell, Bob Teribury, Fred Christ, Jason Bartsch, Randy Tyler, Jerry Tonti, Jason Schlafer, Brian MacRabie.

RALPH SHOEMAKER, JR., Joe Price, Jr., Jeff Cleveland, Joe Cole, Joel Batzel, Mike Stoddard, Mike Stolarcyk III, Brad Shaffer, Gary Dence, Kevin Cole.

JIM ORTIZ, Shane Wolf, Mike Lartz, Mahlon Shoemaker, Charlie Gilbert, Walt McClenon, Jeremy Shaw, Ted Baker, Bryan Lindsey, Dee Ramey, Joe Cisnay, John Terrell, Randy Rolison, Fred Velez, Mike Codington, Darl Ellis, Toby Sparks, Corey Bond. DNS: Jason Bond.