August 30th, 2003


KIRKWOOD, NY...Chris Muhlausen went wire to wire to claim the Open Wheel Excitement Sprint Car feature Saturday at Five Mile Point Speedway. Mike Ricci, James Cornell, Mike Stolarcyk III and Shane Wolf were also winners on Fuccillo Ford Night.

The Patriot and KARS Sprints invaded the quarter mile oval on Saturday night. Chris Muhlausen started on the pole and was never seriously challenged throughout most of the 25 lap distance. The biggest challenge came in the form of numerous cautions that slowed the event on eight occasions, including a fuel stop.

The drive of the night was put on by Rick Wilson, who came from the back of the pack. Wilson got the final transfer spot in the B-Main and worked his way through the field. He got up to second with five laps to go and then went to work on Muhlausen. Wilson made it interesting on the final lap but Muhlausen had enough to hold him off for the win.

Wilson went from 24th to finish second ahead of Ray Preston, Judi Bates and Billy Krull. Sixth through tenth went to Kyle Drum, George Suprick, Dave Wickham, Bob Seidel and Gordy Button.

Mike Ricci started 12th in the 358 Modified feature and quickly worked his way into the top five in just eight laps. Butch Klinger held the early lead with Billy Thornton and Dan Vauter close behind. Klinger lost the handle on lap 13, collecting several cars in the process.

When racing resumed Thornton took the lead for a lap before Ricci took command at the halfway point of the 30 lap feature. Once in front Ricci was never challenged and cruised to his first win of the season at the Point. Ricci is the 11th different winner in 15 races this season. Seventeen year old Dan Vauter ran another solid race to finish second and take over the point lead going into this Saturday’s season championship night.

Thornton was a strong third ahead of Bobby Puckett and Rich Keehle. Positions six through ten went to Glenn Knapp, J.R. Crouse, Jim Allen, AlanBarker and Dana Wagner.

Although the end result was the same, James Cornell didn’t have such an easy time in the Street Stock feature. Jason Bartsch was the early leader before Ken Sparks, Jr. took over on lap seven of the 20 lapper. Cornell worked his way into the runnerup spot with five laps to go and tried to overtake Sparks for the lead.

Cornell made the winning pass following a restart with three laps to go. Cornell would go onto win his 12th feature of the year. Sparks was second ahead of Rob Harder, Jerry Tonti and Gary Roberts. Sixth through tenth went to Brett Spoor, Paul Rooney, Jerry Liford, Jason Schlafer and Bartsch.

Mike Stolarcyk III jumped in front at the start of the UMP Modified feature event. He was challenged early by Gary Dence, who took the lead on lap six and held it until Stolarcyk moved back ahead two laps later. Stolarcyk then withstood the challenge of Jeff Cleveland to score his first career win in the UMP Modified ranks.

Cleveland was second ahead of Dence, Joe Price, Jr. and Mike Stoddard. Rounding out the top ten were Brad Shaffer, Joe Novak, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Joe Cole and Jason Makosky.

Shane Wolf took the lead from Jeremy Shaw on lap 13 of the Pure Stock feature and then held off Darl Ellis and Randy Percival on the final lap to score his fifth win of the season. Wolf collected the $100 B&D Exhaust Pure Stock bonus for winning his heat and the feature. The bonus now goes back to $50.

Ellis was a very close second ahead of Percival, Shaw and Charlie Gilbert. Sixth through tenth went to Bryan Lindsey, Jim Ortiz, Mike Codington, Mike Lartz and Randy Rolison.

This Saturday Pepsi-Cola presents Season Championship Night. Track Champions will be crowned in all four divisions. The Modifieds will headline the night with a 50 lap feature. Race time on Saturday is 6:15 p.m. For further information please call the speedway office at 607-775-5555 or log onto our website at

COUNTER POINTS… The Modified point battle is very close with Vauter leading Crouse by nine points and Don Hart, Jr. by 25 points...The UMP Mods are also very close with Joe Price, Jr. leading Jeff Cleveland by four points and Gary Dence by 22...Price is the only driver in any division at the Point this year to have finished in the top ten every week...Cornell notched his 63rd career win in only three years of racing, besting his father’s career total of 62...30 Sprint Cars were on hand between the Patriot and KARS organizations...Night sponsor Fuccillo Ford gave away bicycles to a boy and a girl.

CHRIS MUHLAUSEN, Rick Wilson, Ray Preston, Judi Bates, Billy Krull, Kyle Drum, George Suprick, Dave Wickham, Bob Seidel, Gordy Button, Jared Zimbardi, Mike Lauterborn, Kevin Nagy, Warren Alexson, Dale Hammaker, Nate Hammaker, Nyles Berkos, Brad Knab, Dan Richcreek, Tim Zimbardi, Howard Singer, Jeff Cook, Tim Barnard, Mike Ressler.

MIKE RICCI, Dan Vauter, Billy Thornton, Bobby Puckett, Rich Keehle, Glenn Knapp, J.R. Crouse, Jim Allen, Alan Barker, Dana Wagner, Dave Calaman, Russell Hendrickson, Jr., Dick Sundgren, Don Hart, Jr., Jim Corcoran, Scott Frack, Butch Klinger, Bob Hamm, Jim Crawn, Dan Morden, Matt Smith, Dan Hineline, Brian Corcoran, Brandon Buck.

JAMES CORNELL, Ken Sparks, Jr., Rob Harder, Jerry Tonti, Gary Roberts, Brett Spoor, Paul Rooney, Jerry Liford, Jason Schlafer, Jason Bartsch, Fred Christ, Dan Pompey, Ken Taugher, Scott Chapman, Bob Teribury, Brian MacRabie, Tom Lainhart. DNS: Randy Tyler.

MIKE STOLARCYK, III, Jeff Cleveland, Gary Dence, Joe Price, Jr., Mike Stoddard, Brad Shaffer, Joe Novak, Ralph Shoemaker, Jr., Joe Cole, Jason Makosky, Joel Batzel, Scott Bennett.

SHANE WOLF, Darl Ellis, Randy Percival, Jeremy Shaw, Charlie Gilbert, Bryan Lindsey, Jim Ortiz, Mike Codington, Mike Lartz, Randy Rolison, Fred Velez, Brian Barrett, Josh Ellis, Tom Garren, Ray Marbaker, Harry Marvin, III, Ted Baker, Matt Spencer, Walt McClenon, Shephard Blodgett, John Terrell, Mahlon Shoemaker, Toby Sparks, Brian Mills.