June 23rd, 2010




Kirkwood, NY…Weekly Five Mile Point Speedway Sportsman competitor Jeff Crambo bested the invaders on Wednesday night by winning the 40 lap Race of Champions Dart Dirt Series Special event.  The victory netted Crambo $1,000.


Crambo took the lead on lap 13 from runner-up Mike Nagel, Jr.  Crambo started in the seventh position by virtue of the top qualified drivers re-drawing for position.  Crambo was able to hold off a late charge from Nagel for his third victory of the season.  Nagel, June 12th winner Jamie Batzel, June 19th winner Justin Holland and Anthony Perrego completed the top five finishers.  Only three cautions slowed the action. The tour will return to Five Mile Point Speedway on Wednesday, July 7th.


Gary Roberts notched his fourth IMCA Modified victory of the season at Five Mile Point Speedway.  The victory was his first in the traveling Empire State Series Tour.  Roberts took the lead on a lap 15 restart when race leader Lyle Smith ran in to mechanical problems.  Runner – up Howard Jones made a late race challenge but was unable to work past Roberts at the line.  Jones finished second followed by Kevan Cook Chris Fleming and weekly driver Brad Weaver.


The 25 lap Trackside Products RoC Street Stock Tour was won by Harold Humphrey.  Humphrey took the lead on lap 6 and was never seriously challenged from that point forward.  His only challenge was late race rain that fell but the race was completed prior to track conditions deteriorating.  Defending series Champion Rich Talada rallied from his tenth place starting position to finish second.  Five Mile Point Speedway weekly driver Jon Carpenter finished third with Nick Nye and Doug Polhamus rounding out the top five.


Racing continues this Saturday night with the 46th running of the Heath Memorial.  The Modified race, which honors the memory of track founders Anna and Irving Heath will be 46 laps paying $2,000 to the winner.  Drivers from the past will be returning for the annual Racer’s Reunion and ten additions will be made to the All Time 50 Greatest Drivers List at the speedway.


Counter Points…Track officials did a tremendous job completing the racing card on Wednesday night prior to the rain…The full program was completed in just over 2 hours with racing in the books by 9:30 p.m…Defending Race of Champions Dart Dirt Sportsman Tour Champion Jeff Leslie was an early exit in the 40 lap event and was scored with a last place finish…



RACE OF CHAMPIONS SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 40 LAPS:  JEFF CRAMBO, Mike Nagel Jr., Jamie Batzel, Justin Holland, Anthony Perrego, Nick Petrilak, Mike Loney, Sammy Piazza, Steven Planck, Randy Brokaw, Mike Austin, Brad Szulewski, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Bryan Batzel, Jerry Tonti, Ben Bushaw, Nick Rochinski, Chris Wood, P.J. Wood, Ken Hammond, Jeff Leslie


RACE OF CHAMPIONS TRACKSIDE PRODUCTS STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 25 LAPS:  HAROLD HUMPHREY, Rich Talada, Jon Carpenter, Nick Nye, Doug Polhamus, Kevin Boynton, Jason Butler, Rich Sharpsteen, Mike Codington, Nick Robinson, Tom Eiklor, Steve Polhamus, Joe Warren, T.J. Anderson, Darl Ellis Jr., Randy Marsh, Denny Decker, Charlie Gilbert, Dan Babcock, Cody Decker.


EMPIRE STATE SERIES IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 25 LAPS: GARY ROBERTS, Howard Jones, Kevan Cook, Chris Fleming, Brad Weaver, Gary Dence, Ryan Scott, Jerry Lobell, KC Cole, Edie Sites, Shawn Bruce, Josh Vantassell, Patti Simpson, Mike Smith, Matt Roberts, Tyler Stoddard, Tommy Paige, Jeremy Shaw, Fred Gibson, J.J. Courcy, Mike Stoddard, Lyle Smith, Mark Griffin, Mike Wilbur, Joe Cole, Pete Neff.