June 26th, 2010




KIKRWOOD, NY…Five Mile Point Speedway held the 46th running of the Heath Memorial this past Saturday night and Stewart Friesen became a second time winner of the event.  The Modified race which honors the memory of track founders Irving and Anna Heath was 46 laps this past Saturday and paid $2,000 to the race winner.


Twenty-six Modified teams took to the quarter mile for the 46 lap feature event.  For the second straight week Gary Tomkins took off in the early race lead.  Two lap one cautions sorted the field out and the next 40 laps would go caution free.  Tomkins took advantage of the long green flag run to open up a full straight away lead as he ran the very bottom of the quarter mile.  Once again all eyes were on the “Canadian Flyer” Stewart Friesen as he began the race in the sixteenth position.  Friesen wasted no time using all lines of the quarter mile to charge toward the front of the field. 


Nick Rochinski ran in the second position in the early stages after starting in seventh.  Kevin Bates and Bobby Puckett had a tremendous battle for the third position during the first half of the race.  Friesen found himself in the runner-up spot by lap 20 running the far outer reaches of the quarter mile.  As Tomkins continued to run the bottom of the speedway Friesen reeled him in and the two ran side by side for several laps prior to Friesen taking over for good.  The race would go caution free until lap 41 as third place runner and last weeks winner Jim Gabriel, Jr. slowed with a left rear flat tire.  The restart would find six lapped cars separating Friesen and Tomkins and Friesen quickly pulled back away.  Both Bates and Brian Puckett hooked up in a great battle for the fourth slot as the laps wound down.  At the finish it would be Friesen notching his second Heath Memorial win and his seventh of the season.  Tomkins and Rochinski were second and third.  Bates just edged out rookie Brian Puckett for fourth.  Gary Griffin, Mike Colsten, Brian Weaver, Frank Yankowski and Brent Wilcox rounded out the top ten.


Nick Petrilak won the 20 lap Sportsman feature event as it went caution free once again on Saturday night.  Petrilak and Mike Loney had a side by side battle for the lead during the first 15 laps of the event.  Once Petrilak edged ahead he started to pull away a bit as Justin Holland put his patented outside drive on as he charged toward the front.  On lap 16 Holland made his way past Loney but was unable to mount a charge on Petrilak for the victory.  The top five would be Petrilak, Holland, Loney, Jamie Batzel and Chris Wood.


The 20 lap Street Stock feature event followed the trend of the evening as they too went caution free in their feature.  The race can be described as one of the best in you could ever see.  Defending Heath Memorial race winner Todd Sutliff lead to the mid-way point of the event only to retire with an overheating problem in the number zero.  Darl Ellis, Jr. took over the point from lap 11 and immediately had to contend with Shane Wolf, Jr., Tyler Yeagle, Charlie Gilbert and Wednesday night winner Harold Humphrey.  Ellis and Wolf ran side by side during the final stages of the event and unfortunately for Ellis his left rear tire began to lose air.  Over the final two laps Wolf tried all routes around as Gilbert waited for a mistake in third.  In turn three on the final lap Ellis had the tire let go as Wolf would spin to avoid leaving Gilbert to charge around them both for the victory.  Jonathon Carpenter wound up in second at the stripe followed by Humphrey, Doug Polhamus and Doug Stack.


The 20 lap IMCA Modified feature was slowed by only one caution as Mike Smith rebounded from a devastating crash last Saturday to record the win in a new car this weekend.  Smith jumped a wheel in last Saturday night’s event while running third and slammed the third turn wall destroying his mount.  Smith started in sixth place and took the lead on lap 8 from Joe Cole.  Smith pulled away during the late stages with Kevan Cook putting his second straight top five finish in the books by finishing second.  Matt Roberts wound up third with Scott Bennett and K.C. Cole completing the top five.


A pair of Lightning Cat wins went to Lancen Albanese in the Expert division and Troy Kress in the Novice division. 


COUNTER POINTS…The very special evening of racing saw former driver’s returning to the speedway from as far away as Florida for the Heath Memorial…Ten additions were named to the Greatest All Time Drivers List at the speedway…Billy Decker, Gary Dence, Stewart Friesen, Mitch Gibbs, Charlie Gilbert, Red Harrington, Gordie Isham, Danny Johnson, Gary Roberts, Brian Weaver...Congratulations to those drivers on a great accomplishment…All of the support division features were in the books by 8:00 p.m. as the speedway then held it’s ceremony honoring the great drivers from the past…The ultra wide quarter mile oval provided unbelievable racing on Saturday with only five caution flag periods between six feature events…Sue Goodwin (mother of Sportsman driver P.J. Goodwin) raised lap money and contingency awards for the entire Sportsman field on Saturday…Martin and J.R. Kennerup donated 50 dollars to the leader of lap 41 in the Modified feature in memory of Jane Kennerup who passed away this past spring…



46th HEATH MEMORIAL OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 46 LAPS:  STEWART FRIESEN, Gary Tomkins, Nick Rochinski, Kevin Bates, Brian Puckett, Gary Griffin, Mike Colsten, Brian Weaver, Frank Yankowski, Brent Wilcox, Joey Colsten, Jim Gabriel Jr., Shaun Walker, Brian Malcolm, Eric Palmer, Carl Nagel, Ken Titus, Joe Krisovich, Glenn Knapp, Bobby Puckett, J.r. Hurlburt, Barry White, Bobby Trapper, Joe Eisenhauer, Tom Oleski, Mike Bowman.  DNS Darrin Schuler.


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 20 LAPS:  NICK PETRILAK, Justin Holland, Mike Loney, Jamie Batzel, Chris Wood, P.J. Goodwin, Steven Planck, Mike Austin, Mike Dougherty, Mike Nagel Jr., Gary Plummer, Paul Strohl, Bryan Batzel, Jerry Tonti, Mike Sabia.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 20 LAPS:  MIKE SMITH, Kevan Cook, Matt Roberts, Scott Bennett, Casey Cole, Joe Cole, Chris Fleming, Gary Roberts, Mike Wilbur, Gary Dence, Brad Weaver, Tyler Stoddard, Howard Jones, Shawn Bruce, Mike Stoddard, Patti Simpson.


STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH 20 LAPS:  CHARLIE GILBERT, Jon Carpenter, Harold Humphrey, Doug Polhamus, Doug Stack, Mike Codington, Louie Gordinier, Jake Folsten, Darl Ellis Jr., Steve Polhamus, Shane Wolf Jr., Joe Warren, Rob Snow, Duane Codington, Tyler Yeagle, Todd Sutliff.


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  LANCEN ALBANESE, Dan Wood, Nick Griest, Kenny Underwood, Dave Simms, Mike Seaman, Bill Titus, Jeff Hayes, Dennis Keesler, Gary Kinne, Beezer Wilkie, Grayson Albanese, 22s, 8w, Ashley Jones, Rob Slezak, Tyler Harpell, David Cook, Travis Hayes.


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  TROY KRESS, Mike McDaniels, Duane Kinne, Jerry Tunney, Kim Hayes, Tanner Harpell, Tyler Belcher, Jason Colwell, Anthony Seward, Damen Basuenwein, Tom Desmond, Michelle Dowdle, Chad Walters, Hank Bausenwein.  DNS Dave Desmond.