July 31st, 2010





KIRKWOOD, NYRookie driver Brian Puckett drove to his first ever Modified win on Saturday night at Five Mile Point Speedway.  The victory came after a classic battle with eight time feature winner Stewart Friesen.


Eric Palmer was the early race leader in the 30 lap Modified feature.  Palmer started in the second position and quickly took the lead from rookie Joey Colsten.  Palmer had the top of the quarter mile dialed in as he quickly pulled away from the field.  The first of two cautions flew on lap 7 when Carl Nagel spun with a left rear flat tire taking himself and Shaun Walker in to the foam blocks in turn three.  Both were able to return to action.


On the restart Palmer chose the outside line with Colsten on the bottom.  Again Palmer pulled away but now Brian Puckett had worked his way in to the second position and he began to close in on the leader.  On lap 15 Puckett slipped past Palmer and began to pull away from the field.  Meanwhile eleventh place starter Stewart Friesen was on the move as he had worked his way up to the third slot.  On lap 18 Friesen motored in to second but had a number of lapped cars between himself and the race leader Puckett.


Puckett would see his lead evaporate on lap 23 as fifth place runner Joey Colsten came to a stop with mechanical problems.  On the restart one lapped car separated Puckett and Friesen and when the green flew Friesen made his charge.  On lap 28 Friesen slid underneath Puckett coming out of turn 4 and was scored the race leader.  Entering turn 1 Puckett made a move unlike a rookie as Friesen went to the top of the track he darted underneath to regain the lead in turn 2.  The fans were on their feet for the final two laps as again Friesen charged to the topside to try and regain the lead.  At the finish Puckett held on by a bumper with Friesen finishing second.  Palmer had a strong run for third and Kevin Bates fought an ill handling car to earn fourth.  J.R. Hurlburt had his best finish of the season coming home in fifth.


The Street Stocks ran in their big $1,000 to win 20 lap event on Saturday night.  Several invaders were on hand looking to steal the cash from the track regulars.  Shane Wolf, Sr. would emerge the winner, his third of the season.  Charlie Gilbert finished second followed by Rich Talada, Carl Shimer and Todd Sutliff.


The 20 lap Sportsman feature event saw rookie A.J. Lord leading the early stages of the event as fellow rookie Bryan Batzel ran in second place.  Jamie Batzel took over the lead on lap 7 but immediately had to contend with a hard charging Jeff Crambo.  The two ran side by side for several laps with Crambo taking command just after the mid-way point.  Crambo would go on to record his third victory of the season.  Jamie Batzel, Mike Loney, Justin Holland and Chris Wood completed the top five.


Gary Dence was the early race leader in the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature event.  Howard Jones took over the lead on lap 3 and would never look back.  For Jones it was his second feature win of the season at the quarter mile.  Brad Weaver, Mike Smith, Scott Bennett and Matt Roberts completed the top five.


The Kinne Family repeated their rare father and son feat of July 10th by winning both the Lightning Cat Novice and Expert division features.  Gary Kinne was the Expert winner with his son Duane winning the Novice.  Tucker Harpell was the Kiddie Cat winner with Mike Loney winning the Sportsman Dash for Cash.


Racing continues this Wednesday night with a “Night of Feature’s”.  The Modifieds will be running a 30 lap event paying $2,000 to the winner.  Race time is 7:15 p.m.



MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (30):  BRIAN PUCKETT, Stewart Friesen, Eric Palmer, Kevin Bates, J.R. Hurlburt, Brent Wilcox, Nick Rochinski, Glenn Knapp, Jim Gabriel Jr., Brian Malcolm, Mike Colsten, Tom Oleski, Butch Tittle, Frank Yankowski, Barry White, Ken Titus, Shaun Walker, Carl Nagel, Joe Eisenhauer, Joe Krisovich, Darrin Schuler, Gary Griffin, Joey Colsten, Bobby Puckett, Brian Weaver, Rusty Smith.


$1,000 TO WIN STREET STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  SHANE WOLF SR., Charlie Gilbert, Rich Talada, Karl Shimer, Todd Sutliff, Butch Green, Ray Lindquist, Scott Vanderpool, Mike Codington, Brian Titus, Joe Warren Dan Babcock, Rob Snow, Denny Decker, Jon Carpenter, Tyler Yeagle.  DQ – Darl Ellis Jr., Shane Wolf Jr. DNS – Randy Richards


SPORTSMAN OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  JEFF CRAMBO, Jamie Batzel, Mike Loney, Justin Holland, Chris Wood, Nick Petrilak, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Jeff Bronson, A.J. Lord, Mike Austin, Bryan Batzel, Tyler Singleton, Ted Maixsall, P.J. Goodwin, Jerry Tonti, Mike Nagel Jr.


IMCA MODIFIED OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20):  HOWARD JONES, Brad Weaver, Mike Smith, Scott Bennett, Matt Roberts, Gary Dence, K.C. Cole, Charlie Gilbert, Patti Simpson, Mike Wilmot, Dan Wood, Gary Roberts. 


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15):  GARY KINNE, Dan Wood, Dennis Keesler, Kenny Underwood, Jeff Hayes, Dave Simms, Bill Titus, Nick Griest, Rob Warner, Chris Conrad, Matt Clark, Travis Hayes, Rob Slezak.  DNS 63


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (12):  DUANE KINNE, Troy Kress, Dave Jenkins, Mike McDaniels, Jason Colwell, Tanner Harpell, Jerry Tunney, Todd Titus, Phillip Meyers, Hank Bausenwein, Jim Pratt, Damen Bausenwein, Anthony Seward.


KIDDIE CAT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  TUCKER HARPELL, Tommy Rought, Tim Vandemark.  Jason Colwell – best of class…