May 23rd, 2010




KIRKWOOD, NY…Defending RoC Street Stock Tour Champion Rich Talada recorded the win at Five Mile Point Speedway on Sunday in the Trackside Products 25 lap tour event.  Ken Underwood won round one of the Colossal Cat Challenge and Jeremy Quick showed the CRSA Sprint Tour drivers the fast way around the quarter mile.


Jonathon Carpenter set the pace in the early going of the 25 lap Trackside Products RoC Street Stock Tour event.  Carpenter looked strong early as he led for the first fifteen circuits.  Back in the field Rich Talada was quickly moving through the pack from his thirteenth starting spot on the grid. 


By lap 9 Talada had broken in to the top five and was in to the runner-up slot on lap 12 after the second and third place cars were involved in a jingle.  On the lap 13 the battle for the lead really began to take shape as Carpenter and Talada ran side by side.  The two engaged in a heated side by side battle for the next several circuits with Talada taking over on the 16th go around.


From that point Talada would find a new challenger for the race as Denny Decker had charged to the second position all the way up from the 21st starting spot.  Decker tried to make several bids for the lead but was unable to make a successful run for the top spot.  At the stripe it would be Talada holding off Decker and Carpenter winding up in third.  Harold Humphrey rallied from 18th position to capture fourth and Shane Wolf Jr. came all the way from the 25th starting spot to fifth.


Jeremy Quick started third in the 25 lap CRSA Sprint Car main event and had the lead on lap 1 as he wasted little time showing his previous strong performances at the quarter mile were no fluke.  Josh Flach ran in second during the early going as the first ten laps went caution free.  During the yellow period Flach retired to the pit area with mechanical problems.  With the field re-assembled Justin Barger began to put on the show for the fans.  Barger, who started 11th flew to the front of the field as found the outside of the quarter mile to his liking.  Barger was up to third with only five laps remaining and charged past Ryan Smith with only two laps to go.  By this time Quick had opened up a sizeable lead and Barger ran out of time.  Quick would go on for the win followed by Barger, Smith, Billy VanInwegen and Brett Jaycox.


The show of the night was the 20 lap Colossal Cat Challenge race one.  The feature would go caution free but the racing up front was nothing short of spectacular.  In the early going a three wide battle between race leader Lancen Albanese, Dan Wood and Kenny Underwood was a delight for the fans.  The three ran that way lap after lap with each driver exchanging lines.  On lap 11 Wood took the lead momentarily as Albansese began to fade and would eventually head pitside on lap 12.  As Wood and Underwood fought for the lead newcomer Mike Seamon worked his way up from the eighth starting spot as the leaders began a new three wide battle for the lead.  At the checkers Underwood edged out Seamon with Wood finishing in third in a three wide finish.  Gary Kinne wound up fourth with Nick Griest finishing in fifth.



TRACKSIDE PRODUCTS ROC TOUR STREET STOCK 25 OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  RICH TALADA, Denny Decker, Jon Carpenter, Harold Humphrey, Shane Wolf Jr., Doug Polhamus, Ken Sparks Jr., Tom Eiklor, Mike Codington, Shane Wolf Sr., Doug Stack, Darl Ellis Jr., Earl Zimmer, Bob Buono, Nate Peckham, Charlie Gilbert, Nick Nye, Dave Pope, Steve Polhamus, Dave Mannise, Todd Sutliff, Kevin Boynton, Jason Butler, Don Russell Jr., Daryl Krebs.  DNQ – Dave Mutz, T.J. Anderson, Joe Warren, Larry Fenton, Rob Snow, Cody Decker.  DQ – Chris Strohl.


COLOSSAL CAT CHALLENGE 15 LAP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  KEN UNDERWOOD, Mike Seamon, Dan Wood, Gary Kinne, Nick Griest, Dennis keesler, Grayson Albanese, Bill Titus, Tyler Harpell, Troy Kress, Kim Hayes, Walt Henry, Travis Hayes, Frank Kennedy, Jeff Hayes, Lancen Albanese, Dave Simms.


CRSA SPRINT CAR FEATURE 25 LAP OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH:  JEREMY QUICK, Justin Barger, Ryan Smith, Billy VanInwegen, Brett Jaycox, Josh Pieniazek, Phil Peworchik Jr., Billy Jaycox, Matt Tanner, Craig Rochelle, Jamie Christian, Tyler Rice, Chad King, John Matrafailo, Warren Alexson, John Cunningham, Art Kiser, Anthony Brennan, Mark Zemcik, Curtis June, Bruno Leombruno, Josh Flach, Damiani, John Leombruno,